Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

2016 Reading Resolution January 1, 2016

Filed under: Reading — skpierce12 @ 8:47 PM

Last year I took a break from having a designated reading resolution for the year like I had done in 2013 and 2014, but I’ve decided to revive the challenge for 2016.  Instead of having set genres to read, however, I’ve decided instead to read one book recommended to me by family members and close friends.  In doing so, I hope to better my understanding and appreciation for each individual by reading something that he or she enjoyed or found significant in some way.

I also hope to revive this blog by posting regular reading updates, as I’ve sadly neglected it these past 6 months as I embarked upon yet another new teaching position at yet another new school.  But I’ve settled into the world of First Grade by now, so expect to see more regular posts from me from now on.

Without further ado, the list:

  1. John (husband) – Advise and Consent by Allen Drury
  2. Mom – The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
  3. Dad – The Captured: A True Story of Abduction by Indians on the Texas Frontier by Scott Zesch
  4. Loveta (mother-in-law) – Living Jesus by Randy Harris
  5. John Sr. (father-in-law) – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
  6. Tom (brother) – The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  7. Julie (sister) – Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler
  8. Ken (brother) – Anthem by Ayn Rand
  9. Kalyn (sister-in-law) – Years by Lavyrle Spencer
  10. BJ (brother-in-law) – The Mystic Way of Evangelism by Elaine Heath
  11. Donia (friend) – The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman
  12. Rebecca (friend) – Trinity: Military War Dog by Ronie Kendig

With 12 books on the list, I hope to read one per month.

Happy New Year!

 

11 Responses to “2016 Reading Resolution”

  1. […] launch my 2016 reading resolution, I selected The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman as my book for January.  My friend Donia, a fellow […]

  2. […] doldrums of the school year, I chose The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie as my February 2016 reading resolution book.  If a classic whodunit couldn’t wake me up and get me going again, what […]

  3. […] enthusiast, chose Advise and Consent by Allen Drury for me to read this year as part of my 2016 Reading Challenge.  Written in the late 1950s by a political reporter, Advise and Consent is a fictional inside look […]

  4. […] sister-in-law, Kalyn, selected Years by LaVyrle Spencer for me to read for my 2016 Reading Challenge.  In her words, this is […]

  5. […] my May reading challenge book, I chose my friend Rebecca’s recommendation of Trinity: Military War Dog by Ronie […]

  6. […] the beginning of June, I began The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky — my sixth reading challenge selection for 2016.  My older brother, Tom, had given me a list of several books that he recommended, and from that […]

  7. […] I finished my latest 2016 reading challenge book, Ayn Rand’s Anthem.   After my lengthy June pick, I wanted a shorter read for July. […]

  8. […] my August reading challenge book, I selected Living Jesus: Doing What Jesus Says in the Sermon on the Mount by Randy Harris. […]

  9. […] to the arrival of Baby Pierce last month, I got an early start on my September reading challenge book, Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler.  Postpartum recovery and breastfeeding allowed me lots of […]

  10. […] A Contemplative Vision for Christian Outreach by Elaine Heath for me to read as part of my 2016 reading challenge, and I selected it to be my pick for October.  BJ completed his Doctor of Ministry degree last […]

  11. […] my 11th book of my 2016 reading challenge, I chose The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.  It was my mom’s recommendation for my list, […]


Leave a Reply

