Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Skinny Broccoli Mac and Cheese March 22, 2015

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:40 PM
Tags: , , , ,

019 021

On the same day that I made the Crustless Swiss Chard Pie for lunch, I made a second vegetarian recipe from The Skinnytaste Cookbook for dinner: Skinny Broccoli Mac and Cheese. John comments from time to time about loving broccoli-and-cheese or mac-and-cheese. Since I rarely cook either one, I thought I’d treat him to both in one go while also getting in another recipe for my vegetarian cooking challenge.

This dish is designed to be a vegetarian main, but I have to admit that I pulled out some leftover steak from the fridge to serve alongside it. I know, I know. That seems especially like cheating to me now, 10 days later, when I am on the eve of launching Mark Bittman’s VB6 (Vegan Before 6) diet plan.

At any rate, the broccoli mac and cheese was delicious, and it would make for a tasty main. It was very filling thanks to the pasta (I used 100% whole wheat rotini) and cheese (2% cheddar). The leftovers were surprisingly good, as well. Milk-based dishes often don’t hold up to refrigeration and reheating, but this one did fairly well. John, especially, loved this recipe all three nights we had it. It earned a solid 4 stars, putting it at the top of my March Cooking Challenge list.

022

 

Leave a Reply

