Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Slow Cooker Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili January 11, 2015

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:56 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

001

While looking for slow cooker recipes for my 2015 Cooking Challenge, this Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili on the Skinnytaste blog first caught my eye because of the pumpkin among the ingredients.  I am a BIG pumpkin fan.  Then seeing that the recipe called for 2 lbs of ground turkey, I was sold. I’ve had 4 lbs of ground turkey (don’t ask me why) in my freezer needing cooked.  This would cut that number in half.

 

I prepped the chili this morning and left it to cook on low while we went to my in-laws’ house for the Cowboys game. Typically I avoid slow cooker recipes that require ingredients to be pre-cooked on the stove, as that seems counterproductive to the point of using a slow cooker — hands-off cooking with only one dirty dish at the end.  Yet browning the meat and sautéing the onions for this recipe wasn’t too much of a pain.

 

I purposely avoided telling my husband that there was pumpkin in the chili–especially after the Cowboys lost this afternoon. While John will eat and even enjoy pumpkin-based treats, they are more of the Starbucks or baked-good variety. He’s definitely not as enthusiastic (okay, obsessed) about pumpkin as I am.  I hoped that the chili would be so delicious that he wouldn’t care what its ingredients were.

 

Sadly, this was not the case. The chili was bland, bland, bland. I added salt. I added chili powder. I added more chili powder. The chili was still bland. It also was thick — nothing like the picture on the blog. I stirred in more chicken broth and sprinkled some cilantro on top. It was the best I could do. John and I both gave it 2 stars. We’ll eat the leftovers so as not to be wasteful, but I will not be looking forward to those dinners very much.

 

I now have 3 slow cooker recipes made towards my January slow cooker challenge.  The Balsamic Pork Tenderloin remains solidly in the lead!

 

One Response to “Slow Cooker Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili”

  1. […] Upon tasting the frittata, my first thought was, “chicken spaghetti.” It lacked the smooth creaminess of chicken spaghetti, but the pasta taste in the frittata was very strong due to the sheer amount of it. Four cups is a lot of spaghetti. I rather liked the frittata through my first few bites, but my enthusiasm waned as I ate through my serving. By the end, it just tasted too dry to really enjoy. John thought more cheese, less spaghetti, and slightly less cooking time might yield better results. He gave the frittata 2 stars. I agreed on his recipe suggestions, but I granted the frittata 2.5 stars. I liked it somewhat better than last week’s disappointing turkey chili. […]


Leave a Reply

