Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Slow Cooker Balsamic Pork Tenderloin January 4, 2015

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:30 PM
Tags: , ,

004

 

Today I officially embarked upon my 2015 Cooking Challenge by making my first new recipe for the January slow cooker category. While recently browsing slow cooker recipes on Skinnytaste, I followed a link to this Balsamic Pork Tenderloin recipe on the Add a Pinch blog. I thought it seemed promising, and I knew I could easily pick up a pork tenderloin at my small-but-convenient local grocery store. I also was in search of a light recipe. After indulging myself for the past two weeks, it’s time to get back to making healthy choices.

 

As the recipe promised, I had the pork in the slow cooker within minutes. I set the timer for 6 hours on the low setting, and off John and I went to look at lots. It seems we are going to build a house this year.

 

When we returned two hours later, the sauce was bubbling and the pork was progressing along nicely. I did not love the smell, as the ½ cup of vinegar was emitting a fairly strong aroma. And frankly, pork tenderloin is about the one thing I make in the slow cooker that just doesn’t smell all that appealing while it’s cooking. But it tastes great at the end, so I can live with its faint odor for an afternoon.

 

After six hours, I turned off the slow cooker and removed the pork to a platter to rest. I transferred the sauce from the slow cooker insert to a small saucepan in order to reduce it down to a glaze. While the sauce cooked down, I used two forks to slightly pull the pork apart:

003

 

When the glaze was ready, I evenly poured it on top of the shredded pork. Now the meat was looking and smelling good.

004

 

I rewarmed roasted vegetables and sautéed Swiss chard from last night’s dinner to serve on the side. Thanks to these leftovers and the ease of the pork recipe, tonight’s homemade dinner could not have been simpler. The Balsamic Pork Tenderloin was very tasty, too, earning a solid 4 stars from both John and me. We’re already looking forward to making sandwiches out of it for our work lunches tomorrow. Hopefully they will help us get through our first days back at school after our two-week winter break.

 

My first slow cooker recipe of the month was a success; stay tuned to see what I cook up next!

 

5 Responses to “Slow Cooker Balsamic Pork Tenderloin”

  1. John Says:

    I want some more of this!!!!!!!!! It was good!!!!!!! It was even good cold!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] now have 3 slow cooker recipes made towards my January slow cooker challenge.  The Balsamic Pork Tenderloin remains solidly in the […]

  3. […] are just two weeks left to see if I can top the delicious Balsamic Pork Tenderloin, my tastiest slow cooker recipe this […]

  4. […] in which to whip up a slow cooker recipe for my January cooking challenge. After the success of the Balsamic Pork Tenderloin earlier this month, I was eager to try a different twist on a slow cooker pork recipe. I selected Herbed Apricot Pork […]


Leave a Reply

