Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Zucchini-Walnut Bread August 5, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 4:36 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

062 065

 

Last month I found myself with a few extra zucchini lying around, so I put one of them to use in Ellie Krieger’s Zucchini-Walnut Bread from the breakfast, brunch, & bakery chapter of Comfort Food Fix.

 

I have not had good luck with zucchini bread recipes in the past–they have turned out dry and/or tasteless. Even a zucchini-pineapple bread turned out surprisingly blah. After my last failure, I could not help but ask, Was it me, or was it the recipe?  So I wasn’t expecting the best when I embarked upon this recipe.  I followed the instructions exactly in order to discount for user error; if the recipe failed, at least I could claim it was not my fault!

 

About 30 minutes into the baking time, however, my kitchen was filled with the warm scent of cinnamon, and I began anticipating my first bite. I baked the loaf for an hour, as the oven in my new kitchen runs cooler than my previous one.

 

The recipe instructs you to wait until the bread is completely cool before slicing, but my growling tummy disagreed–it was ready for breakfast. I therefore cut into the loaf while it was still a little warm, to no ill effect. The zucchini-walnut bread was tasty (and not too dry), but it lacked oomph. In the end, both John and I rated it as an average, 3-star recipe. My hunt for the best zucchini bread recipe ever continues.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 24
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 129

 

Zucchini-Walnut Bread

¾ cup whole wheat pastry flour
¾ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp ground nutmeg
¼ tsp salt
1/3 cup canola oil
1/3 cup natural unsweetened applesauce
2 large eggs
1 small zucchini (6 oz), coarsely grated (about 1¼ cups)
1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

2. Whisk together the flours, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl. In another large bowl, whisk together the oil, applesauce, and eggs. Stir in the zucchini. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixing just enough to combine. Stir in the walnuts.

3. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Bake until a wooden skewer inserted into the center comes out clean, 50 to 60 minutes. Allow to cool for 15 minutes in the pan, then transfer the bread to a wire rack to cool completely before slicing.

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: one 1-inch-thick slice). Per serving, 7 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

