Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus August 4, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:23 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

004

 

Sometime last spring, I lost my cooking mojo. In the weeks and months after launching my blog, I spent hours happily looking for new recipes, making frequent grocery store trips, and whipping up new recipe after new recipe. Eventually I burned out, as evidenced by my lack of food posts for months. Yet I did not forget my commitment to cooking every recipe from Ellie Krieger’s Comfort Food Fix cookbook, nor did I stop cooking full-stop. Back in April, I tried out Ellie’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus to delicious results.

 

Hummus has long been a favorite, but until Ellie’s recipe, I had only ever tried one recipe for it courtesy of WeightWatchers. While the WeightWatchers one is a tasty recipe, it’s also VERY heavy on the garlic in order to make up for the lack of olive oil and tahini. (So heavy, in fact, that I can still taste it hours after eating it.) So I was eager to try Ellie’s take on hummus, which includes both olive oil and tahini in its list of ingredients but in reduced, reasonable quantities compared to a full-fat hummus recipe.

 

The only change I made to the recipe was reducing the amount of fresh lemon juice from 3 TB to 2. I typically dislike recipes with too strong of a lemon presence, so I’ve learned to be careful from the outset when a recipe calls for lemon juice. I found the 2 TB to be perfect for this hummus.

 

John’s look upon seeing the hummus on the table was one of skepticism; even I can admit that the pink-orange hue of roasted red pepper hummus is perhaps slightly unappetizing. Yet he and I both liked the taste of the hummus quite a bit, granting it a solid 4 stars. Even with its higher PointsPlus value, I would make this recipe over my old WeightWatchers one any day.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 23
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 130

 

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

1 large roasted red pepper, drained and rinsed if jarred
1 clove garlic, minced
½ tsp of salt, plus more to taste
One 15-ounce can chickpeas, preferably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
2 TB tahini
3 TB fresh lemon juice (I used only 2 TB)
2 TB extra-virgin olive oil, plus 1 teaspoon for garnish
¼ tsp ground cumin
1 TB of water

1. Finely chop 1 tablespoon of the roasted red pepper and reserve for garnish. Coarsely chop the remaining roasted red pepper.

2. Using the broad side of a knife blade, mash together the garlic and the ½ teaspoon salt to form a paste. Place the garlic paste, chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of the oil, cumin, water, and roasted red pepper into a food processor and process until smooth. Season with additional salt to taste.

3. Place the hummus into a serving bowl and garnish with the reserved red pepper. Drizzle the remaining 1 teaspoon of oil over the top. Hummus will keep for about one week in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: ¼ cup). Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Roasted Red Pepper Hummus”

  1. […] The chickpeas I cooked last Sunday came in handy for both salad toppings and for the batch of Roasted Red Pepper Hummus that I made later in the week (which was the tastiest it’s ever been thanks to the […]


Leave a Reply

