Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Butternut Squash Risotto March 29, 2014

001

 

To celebrate surviving an especially busy week, I made dinner for my husband and me on Friday night. Typically a Friday night dinner for the two of us involves either eating out or eating leftovers, so I was rather proud of myself for whipping up something more special. Our meal featured Ellie Krieger’s Butternut Squash Risotto from her Comfort Food Fix cookbook. I’d had my eye on that recipe for many weeks, so I was especially eager to discover how it would turn out.

 

On the ingredients list for the recipe is 1 cup of butternut squash puree. I had intended to purchase the frozen package of squash puree, but after walking up and down the frozen vegetable aisle three times at my grocery store, I gave up on finding it. Luckily, when I got to the produce section, a pre-cubed package of butternut squash was on manager’s special. I snapped up the squash and tossed it into my cart. When I got home, a quick Google search yielded steamed butternut squash directions, and fifteen minutes later, I had my squash puree ready to go.

 

The recipe also calls for ½ cup of dry white wine, but I used Gewürztraminer, a sweeter wine, instead. John and I prefer our wines on the sweet side, so we were able to enjoy a glass of the leftover Gewürztraminer with our dinner.  As far as I can tell, the substitution did not adversely affect the results of the risotto.

 

I made the risotto in my 3.5-quart Dutch oven, which was the perfect size for the dish. Ellie categorizes the recipe as a vegetarian main dish, but I served the risotto as a side rather than a main. The recipe therefore yielded a huge batch of risotto, making at least 6-8 side servings rather than the 4 servings as stated on the recipe.

 

Making the risotto was easy enough, although it did require constant attention and care–and a tolerance for heat. Even I, who am almost always cold, would not want to make risotto in the throes of a summer heat wave. It did get rather steamy standing by the stove for 40 minutes straight.

 

Normally such effort would mitigate the ranking of the resulting recipe, but not so for this risotto. I found it utterly delicious: creamy, flavorful, and filling. I gave the recipe 4 stars. My husband rated the risotto slightly lower at 3.5 stars. When I asked him why, he simply said, “It’s butternut squash risotto.” Fair enough. Butternut squash is not my favorite of the winter squashes, either, but it’s perfect for this dish. I fully intend to make this risotto again in the fall when my CSA once again features farm-fresh butternut squash.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 20
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 133

 

Butternut Squash Risotto

5 cups low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, finely diced
1½ cups Arborio rice
½ cup dry white wine
1 cup pureed butternut squash (one 10-ounce package frozen butternut squash puree, thawed)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage
½ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (1½ ounces)
½ teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

1. Heat the broth in a pan on the stove until it is hot but not boiling. Reduce the heat to low and cover to keep warm.

2. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softened but not browned, 6 to 8 minutes. Add the rice and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Add the wine and simmer until it is absorbed, stirring constantly, about 2 minutes.

3. Add ½ cup of the hot broth and simmer over medium heat, stirring frequently, until it is absorbed. Repeat with the remaining broth, ½ cup at a time, allowing each addition to be absorbed before adding more, about 30 minutes total. When all the broth is incorporated and the rice is tender and creamy, add the squash, sage, all but 2 tablespoons of the cheese, the salt, and pepper. Season with additional salt to taste. Serve immediately, garnished with the reserved cheese.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1½ cups). Per serving, 11 PointsPlus.
[If divided into 8 servings, each serving is 6 PointsPlus.]

 

Leave a Reply

