Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Creamy Shrimp and Grits March 23, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 5:15 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

004

 

Life has been up and down lately, and I have been finding it difficult to summon up time, energy, and enthusiasm for cooking. John and I have eaten more frozen pizzas, hot dogs, and veggie burgers in the past few weeks than I care to admit. But last night I managed to get back in the kitchen and make my 18th new Ellie Krieger recipe of the year: Creamy Shrimp and Grits. This recipe is found not only in Ellie’s Comfort Food Fix cookbook, but also in Prevention magazine (2011).

 

I decided upon this particular recipe because John has uttered the phrase “shrimp and grits” more times than I can count in the past few weeks. John’s sister Kalyn recently told him about a shrimp and grits recipe she had tried, and ever since then he’s been salivating over the idea. For my part, I was curious what Ellie would do with this comfort food classic.

 

The recipe calls for regular grits, but after checking at two nearby grocery stores, I gave up on finding non-instant ones and used quick-cooking grits instead. I made the grits according to the package directions rather than following Ellie’s instructions, but I did add a little unsalted butter after the grits had finished cooking on the stove. The quick-cooking grits, while not amazing on their own, were perfectly fine as a platform for the shrimp mixture.

 

The creamy sauce, chock-full of shrimp and ham, was the definite highlight of the recipe. The garlic, paprika, and thyme made perfect seasonings for the dish, as they were spicy and flavorful without being overpowering. To round out the meal, I made up a batch of roasted vegetables sprinkled with Cajun seasoning and a dash of oregano. The two dishes worked very well together. John and I both rated Creamy Shrimp and Grits as a 4-star recipe; it’s a definite keeper.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 18
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 135

 

2 Responses to “Creamy Shrimp and Grits”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    I’ll have to try her version sometime. The grits in the recipe I made had a little butter and a little parmesan cheese. It was amazing to me how much those two ingredients totally transformed the normally dull taste of grits.


Leave a Reply

