Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Super Bowl Snacks February 16, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:51 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

003 002

009 008

 

For the second year in a row, John and I spent Super Bowl Sunday at my parents’ house, munching away on my dad’s smoked ribs and an array of healthy appetizers that my mom and I prepared. With my dad on WeightWatchers, it was the perfect time to try out four new Ellie Krieger recipes from Comfort Food Fix, my cookbook of the year. Ellie can always be counted on for tasty-yet-good-for-you recipes, so I had no qualms about trying so many new recipes at once.

 

For savory snacking, I selected Ellie’s Triple Onion Dip and Smoked Paprika Potato Chips as well as her Blue Cheese Dip that we served with raw veggies rather than buffalo wings. We rounded out the meal with the ribs, turkey Lit’l Smokies in BBQ sauce, WeightWatchers Jalapeno Poppers (another new recipe that turned out to be a winner), Pioneer Woman Homemade Salsa, and my mom’s homemade guacamole.

 

For a sweet finish (and my fourth new Ellie Krieger recipe of the night), my mom and I agreed upon the Double Chocolate Banana Milkshakes from Comfort Food Fix, which would be easy not only to make, but easy to make gluten-free for my mom.

 

I made the two dips at home the day before the big game in order to let the flavors meld. Even before tasting the Triple Onion Dip the following day, I knew as I stirred the ingredients together that it was going to be good based upon its looks and aroma. I found my interest in this dip to be surprising considering that onion dip (almost always made from a package) has never been a big temptation or delight for me. Apparently I just hadn’t had good onion dip because good onion dip calls my name when I am near. I granted the dip 4.5 stars.

 

Ellie recommends serving the Triple Onion Dip with her homemade Smoked Paprika Potato Chips, so it seemed inevitable that I would make the chips, too. I ordered a Benriner mandolin slicer expressly for this recipe. I had been wanting one, anyway – this was just a good excuse to go ahead and click “Order Now.” Originally I had intended to make the chips at home the day before, but time got away from me and I didn’t make them until I got to my mom and dad’s on Sunday. I was glad of this in the end, as John and I discovered on Monday that the chips did not stay crispy overnight.

 

The potato chips gave me a little trouble while baking; they would go from underdone to burned and black in a matter of seconds, it seemed. Part of the issue was that I had not evenly sliced all of the potatoes (it took me a little while to get a feel for the slicer), so it was hard to cook them evenly as a result. But some of the chips did crisp up as stated in the recipe, and they all tasted delicious. The smoked paprika flavor was the perfect pairing for the Triple Onion Dip, and the four of us ate an embarrassing number of chips. They earned 4 stars from me, with potential for more if I can perfect the baking time.

 

As for the Blue Cheese Dip, I only took a little taste of it as blue cheese is not a favorite of mine. John hates blue cheese, so for the first time ever, he refused to try even a bite of something I had made. My parents are blue cheese fans, however, so they were given free reign over the dip and seemed to enjoy it with the raw veggies. I would give the Blue Cheese Dip 3 stars, but blue cheese fans would likely rate it higher.

 

Finally – the Double Chocolate and Banana Milkshakes. Both my parents and I looked unsuccessfully ahead of time for chocolate frozen yogurt, so we ended up using Blue Bell’s No Sugar Added Lowfat Dutch Chocolate ice cream, which worked perfectly with the unsweetened cocoa powder to make up the “double chocolate” in the recipe’s name. With some cold nonfat milk, frozen ripe banana chunks, and a little ice, we quickly blended up four tall glasses of chocolate-y goodness that only cost 6 PointsPlus apiece. The milkshakes garnered 4 stars despite the “diet” aspects of the recipe’s ingredients. They are a definite make-again!

 

All in all, our Super Bowl party was an unqualified food success. The game may have been a dud, but with such tempting treats before us, we could not have cared less.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 11
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 142

 

Leave a Reply

