Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Peanut Butter Cookies February 16, 2014

015

 

The last chapter of Comfort Food Fix by Ellie Krieger is titled, “Desserts.” It is, unsurprisingly, my favorite chapter. Ellie includes quite a few cookie recipes in this portion of the cookbook, and I selected the Peanut Butter Cookies (p. 260) to be the first ones to try this year.

 

When I noticed that the recipe calls for smooth natural peanut butter, I immediately was inspired to make up a batch of homemade peanut butter to use in the recipe. Last year I read Jennifer Reese’s Make the Bread, Buy the Butter and ever since then I have been itching to try grinding up my own PB. Reese claims that the homemade version is miles beyond store-bought, and she is right. Homemade peanut butter is nuttier, creamier, better.

 

As much as I love peanut butter, PB cookies typically are neither my nor my husband’s favorites, so I made these primarily for John’s UIL students. The recipe states that one batch of dough yields 42 cookies, but I did not get quite that many. Luckily John does not have 42 UILers, so we had plenty leftover after John and I had two cookies each. The Peanut Butter Cookies turned out exactly like the picture in the cookbook – small and crinkly on the edges with a fun crisscross pattern across the top. They were fairly dense and not overly sweet, and they had a nice peanut butter flavor to them. We both agreed that they were 3.5 star cookies.

 

Comfort Food Fix recipes made: 12
Comfort Food Fix recipes still to make: 141

 

Leave a Reply

