Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

2013 New Recipes Round-Up January 3, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 10:01 AM

Just over one year ago, my husband, John, challenged me to set a goal for 2013 to try 40 new recipes and to blog about them. I had been back on WeightWatchers for a month and was getting more interested in healthy cooking. While visiting my in-laws for the holidays, I spent hours looking through my mother-in-law’s WeightWatchers magazines and cookbooks for interesting-sounding recipes. When we returned back home after the New Year, John helpfully signed me up for my blog account, and soon I was cooking and blogging away.

 

Once I began, I could not stop. I quickly met my 40-recipe goal and ended the year at 104 new recipes. (Well, 104 new recipes that I made and blogged about. I tried a number of new recipes in November and December that I simply did not have time to write about; I estimate that I made at least 125 new recipes in 2013). Apart from the satisfaction I got from meeting John’s challenge, I also discovered through this process a love of cooking and writing that I never knew I had. Preparing food for John and myself (and occasionally our friends and family) morphed from a chore into an act of love. I also gained kitchen confidence in spades — although I have yet to branch away from recipe-based cooking. Blogging encouraged me to truly reflect on what I was doing in the kitchen and why; I doubt the experience of cooking new recipes would have been near as meaningful had I not written about it.

 

Last week for Christmas, John gave me Keepers by Kathy Brennan and Caroline Campion. This cookbook features “tried and true weeknight recipes” – the ones that the authors return to again and again to feed their own families. The book’s title inspired me to create a list of my “keepers” from 2013. These are the new recipes I tried last year that John and I especially loved, that I perhaps already have made multiple times, and that I plan to keep on making in the months and years to come. Here are my 2013 “Keepers”, in no particular order, by category (the ones with stars are my especial favorites from the year):

 

Main Dishes
Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry
General Tso’s Chicken
Szechuan Chicken with Noodles
Thai Shrimp Curry
Thai Chicken Stir-Fry
Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken
Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese*
Penne Beef Bake
Tortilla Casserole
Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole
Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis*
Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin*
Makeover Real-Man Quiche*
Mediterranean-Style Frittata
Unique Greek Turkey Burgers
Simple Roast Chicken*

 

Soups & Sandwiches
Corn and Bacon Chowder*
Creamy Tomato Soup*
Italian Wedding Soup
Pressed Pear Turkey Sandwich*

 

Side Dishes
Broccoli with Garlic
Spicy Wilted Spinach
Sautéed Swiss Chard
Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps
Green Beans with Chili Garlic Sauce
Fresh Corn Fritters*
The Rat(atouille) Pack
Zucchini-Ribbon Salad
Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw
Curried Lentil and Rice Salad*
Whole Roasted Garlic
Caramelized Onion Fillo Bites*

 

Breakfast & Breads
Cheese and Tomato Omelet
Turkey Breakfast Sausage
Baked Peach Pancake
Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal*
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins*
Brown Sugar-Banana Waffles
Baked Banana Oatmeal*
Better Blueberry Muffins*
Honey Whole-Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread
Gluten-Free Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins
Pumpkin Oat Bread*
Sweet and Savory Breakfast Bread Pudding
Yippee Chippee Chocolate Chip Muffins
Blooming Herb Bread*
Honey Wheat Bread*

 

Desserts
Lemon Summer Pudding Cake
Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake
Flourless Chocolate Cakes
Peach Cobbler
Layered Chocolate-Banana Pudding*
Downside-Up Peanut Butter Dream Pie
Aunt Doe’s German Chocolate Cake*

 

4 Responses to “2013 New Recipes Round-Up”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    Quick! What is your favorite recipe of the year? You have 5 seconds to reply!

    • skpierce12 Says:

      It has taken me a little longer than 5 seconds, but here it is, my favorite recipe of 2013: Blooming Herb Bread. It’s a delicious homemade bread that is relatively easy to make, that bakes up into a beautiful round loaf worthy of company, and that I made 4 times before the year came to a close.

      Quick! What is your favorite recipe that I made for you in 2013? You have 5 seconds to reply!

  2. […] Last year, my cooking and blog focused on trying and documenting at least 100 new (and mostly diet-friendly) recipes. As 2013 approached its final days, I began to consider my cooking goal for 2014. I liked the idea of working my way through an entire cookbook (rather than picking and choosing recipes from a variety of sources as I did in 2013), and I initially thought that I would attempt one of the classic cookbooks. As I researched those cookbooks, however, I discovered that they were often massive in size and rarely included nutritional information for the individual recipes. It seemed that it would take me years to cook my way through one of them, and if I did, my waistline would not remain where I would like it to be. My 2014 cooking plan was at a standstill. […]

  3. […] bug after starting a diet. What began as a 40-recipe cooking/blogging goal for 2013 blossomed into over 100 new recipes cooked and blogged about by year’s end. Then came 2014. I set my sights on preparing every recipe from Ellie Krieger’s Comfort Food […]


Leave a Reply

