Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Whole Roasted Garlic (New Recipe #95) December 1, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:50 PM
Tags: , , ,

004

 

When John and I visited my brother, Tom, and his wife, Lisa, in California last summer, they treated us to a homemade dinner upon our arrival at their home. Along with herb bread and an assortment of tasty cheeses for an appetizer, Tom served two heads of whole roasted garlic. Both John and I gobbled up the warm, spreadable garlic cloves, and I vowed then and there that I would try roasting garlic once I got home.

 

Fast-forward four months, and I finally got around to doing it. Spurred on by the occasion of having another couple over for dinner, I went looking through my cookbooks for roasted garlic recipes. I settled on Ellie Krieger’s Whole Roasted Garlic from The Food You Crave. Simple and straightforward, it seemed the way to go.

 

I tripled the recipe, roasting three heads of garlic instead of just one. After the heads roasted beautifully in the oven, I followed Ellie’s suggestion to mash the cloves and serve them as a spread alongside my homemade Blooming Herb Bread. This was a wise choice, as the garlic spread was not only delicious, but it also saved our guests from having to handle the oil-saturated heads of garlic themselves. All in all, the recipe earned 4 stars.

 

Whole Roasted Garlic

1 head garlic
1 TB olive oil

1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.

2. Cut the top third of the garlic head off so that the tops of the cloves are exposed. Place the garlic head, unpeeled, in a small ovenproof dish and drizzle with the oil. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes.

3. Uncover and bake until the garlic is soft and golden brown, another 30 to 40 minutes. If not using immediately, let cool, then store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 tsp mashed or 4 cloves). Per serving, 1 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Whole Roasted Garlic (New Recipe #95)”

  1. […] I settled on serving the Whole Roasted Garlic spread alongside my homemade Blooming Herb Bread as an appetizer for a small dinner party John and […]

  2. […] Rat(atouille) Pack Zucchini-Ribbon Salad Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw Curried Lentil and Rice Salad* Whole Roasted Garlic Caramelized Onion Fillo […]


Leave a Reply

