Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Very Berry Dreamboat Parfaits (New Recipe #92) November 30, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 10:40 AM
Tags: , , ,

006

 

When I am strictly counting Points, sugar-free pudding is a lifesaver when my sweet tooth kicks into high gear (which is often). Smooth and creamy pudding helps soothe my craving for something sweet while being low in Points. Now that I am back to maintaining, rather than losing, weight, I have enjoyed ramping up the desserts in my life. For example, the Hungry Girl’s Very Berry Dreamboat Parfaits has pudding as its base, but also includes ingredients such as graham crackers that I would have skipped while trying to lose weight.

 

Not having any parfait glasses or other suitable clear serving vessels, I made the parfaits in our stemless wine glasses, which was a mistake. The mouth of each glass was too narrow, making it difficult to neatly spoon in the various layers of pudding mixture and fruit. The picture above shows this clearly. Luckily I was not serving these to company–just to John and myself for an after-dinner treat.  I used fresh raspberries only; the strawberries were past their prime when I made these parfaits earlier this fall.

 

The parfaits reminded me of my mother-in-law’s berry trifle recipe made with pudding mix and angel food cake (although the trifle is the superior dessert).  The pudding mixture was thicker than plain pudding thanks to the cream cheese. I left out the Reddi-wip, as I cannot bring myself to eat whipped topping from a can, but the parfaits did not need it anyway. Overall, these made for a 3 star dessert. I may or may not make them again.

 

Very Berry Dreamboat Parfaits

2 TB (half a 4-serving box) Jell-O Sugar Free Fat Free Vanilla Instant pudding mix
2 TB Splenda No Calorie Sweetener (granulated)
¼ tsp vanilla extract
¼ cup fat-free milk
1 cup Cool Whip Free, thawed
½ cup fat-free cream cheese, room temperature
½ cup raspberries
½ cup sliced strawberries
1 sheet (4 crackers) low-fat graham crackers, lightly crushed
Optional: Fat Free Reddi-wip

1. Combine pudding mix, sweetener, vanilla extract, and milk in a bowl. Stir vigorously, until smooth and slightly thickened. Mix in whipped topping and cream cheese. Stir thoroughly, until completely mixed and smooth. Cover and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.

2. Evenly distribute raspberries between 2 parfait glasses (or any midsize glasses). Evenly distribute half of the chilled pudding mixture between the glasses, about ¼ cup per glass.

3. Repeat layering with strawberries and the remaining half of the pudding mixture.

4. If you like, top each parfait with a squirt of whipped topping. Evenly distribute the crushed graham crackers between the glasses.

Yield: 2 servings. Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

