Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Thai Shrimp Curry (New Recipe #90) November 27, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:01 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

024

 

When I patronize a Thai restaurant, there is a 95% chance that I will order the green curry. My older brother, Tom, took me to my first Thai restaurant several years ago while I was visiting him in San Francisco. He recommended the green curry, which I ordered, and which I loved. Ever since that lunch, I have attempted to duplicate the deliciousness of my first green curry–hence why I order it at nearly every Thai restaurant I frequent. (So far, no other green curry has lived up to the first. And it likely never will, as I most certainly have inflated the memory of it in my mind.)

 

My husband also enjoys Thai food, and he is similarly predictable in what he will order at a Thai place: Pad Thai or a fried rice dish. He, once or twice, has had a bite of my green curry, and then promptly turned down additional offers for a taste. Curry is not his favorite. Hence, when I decided to try my hand at making my own green curry for the first time, I knew John would not be overly thrilled. I debated telling him that it also was a recipe from the WeightWatchers 15-minute Recipes magazine, as learning that it was a diet green curry recipe with shrimp (not his favorite protein source) might have sent him straight to the closest fast food joint for his dinner. Luckily, I have a sweet husband who is willing to try most dishes at least once. I told him the plans for dinner. His face said, Really? but his lips said, Okay. I love my dear husband.

 

I made the curry in my wok, and it could not have been easier or quicker. I highly recommend using the fresh basil leaves! They added lots of flavor to the dish. I served the curry in bowls over cooked rice. I gave the curry 3 stars, as it definitely tasted like a light version of restaurant curry, but it also was surprisingly good for a “diet” recipe. I, of course, liked it better than John, but he said he’d be willing to eat it on occasion. Next time I am in the mood for curry and our restaurant budget is low, I will reach for this recipe, no question.

 

Thai Shrimp Curry

Cooking spray
1 (16-oz) package frozen steam-in-bag Asian vegetable medley, thawed
2 TB Thai green curry paste
1 (13.66-oz) can light coconut milk
1½ lbs medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
Fresh basil leaves (optional)

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add vegetables; sauté 2 minutes. Add curry paste; sauté 1 minute or until fragrant. Add coconut milk. Bring to a boil; add shrimp. Reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 4 minutes or until shrimp reached desired degree of doneness and sauce is slightly thick. Garnish with fresh basil leaves, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 1¼ cups)

 

2 Responses to “Thai Shrimp Curry (New Recipe #90)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    I am awesome, ain’t I?

    And the curry actually wasn’t bad. It really wasn’t.

  2. […] Dishes Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry General Tso’s Chicken Szechuan Chicken with Noodles Thai Shrimp Curry Thai Chicken Stir-Fry Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese* Penne Beef […]


Leave a Reply

