Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Reading Resolution Update #2 November 25, 2013

Filed under: Reading — skpierce12 @ 11:08 PM

As the holiday season approaches, so does the end of 2013. Throughout this year, I have been attempting to read at least one book from 22 different categories/genres of written text. With just over a month to go, I’ve made a lot of progress on my list, although a few gaps remain.

1. Theology – See #18 below.

2. Pulitzer Prize Winner – TBD

3. Mystery – Done! This one I read in honor of my father-in-law:  Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie.

4. Thriller – TBD

5. Trashy Romance – Done! I am going to count Ree Drummond’s The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels–a Love Story as my book for this category.

6. Carnegie Winner – Done! Well, sort of. I’ve already reread Watership Down by Richard Adams this year, but I am still going to try to fit in a Carnegie that is entirely new to me, as well.

7. Newbery Winner – Done–three times over! I read The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pène du Bois (a respectable 3-stars), The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate (an enthusiastic 5 stars!), and A Visit to William Blake’s Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers by Nancy Willard (a trippy 4 stars).

8. A book that has or is being made into a movie – Done! I read Austenland by Shannon Hale, but I was sorely disappointed by the novel. I gave it only 2 stars. One of my girlfriends and I had planned to go see the movie when it came out this fall, but it disappeared so quickly that we never even had the chance.

9. A Collection of Poetry – In progress. I am currently reading–and largely adoring–Good Poems for Hard Times, edited by Garrison Keillor.

10. A Play – Done! Before going to see a performance of The Taming of the Shrew at TCU’s Trinity Shakespeare Festival in June, I read the play.

11. A Popular History – Done! I listened to (and loved) the audiobook version of The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America by Erik Larson.

12. Biography – Done! Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz was one of the first books I read this year.

13. Memoir – Done! I read The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie by Wendy McClure.

14. Comedy – Done! I (mostly) laughed through Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris.

15. British Classic – Done! My husband, sister-in-law, and I discovered last spring that none of us had ever read Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey. To remedy this sad state, we all read the novel and then had very dorky book club discussion about it.

16. Author-I’ve-Long-Wanted-to-Read-but-Never-Have: Barbara Kingsolver – Done–twice! I read–and loved–Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life last spring. Then over the summer, I read The Poisonwood Bible.

17. Young Adult Lit – Done! In October I read Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl. It was rather disappointing to this Jane Austen fan; I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads.

18. The New Testament in Modern English – Delayed. I have decided that rather than rush through the New Testament by New Year’s, I am going to defer this particular one to 2014. In its place, I plan to read one of the Gospels and a commentary or spiritual reflection upon it (which I plan to count as my theology book for the year).

19. SciFi or Fantasy – Done! SciFi is not my favorite genre, but Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card was extremely well done.

20. Graphic Novel – Done! Bake Sale by Sara Varon was a sweet, if fluffy, read.

21. Current Bestseller – Done! While hiking for two weeks in the mountains and around the lakes of Wyoming and California last summer, I was inspired to read Cheryl Strayed’s Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, which turned out to be one of my favorite reads of the year. I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads.

22. Historical Fiction – Done! It took me over six weeks, but I made it through all 500 pages of Anya Seton’s classic novel Katherine. Set in medieval England, it was an enjoyable epic of a read, earning 4 stars from me.

 

2 Responses to “Reading Resolution Update #2”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    Where did you get the graphic novel? If you own it, can I possibly borrow it? I’m getting closer to finishing Katherine!

    • skpierce12 Says:

      I checked it out from my school’s library, so it’s not mine to lend, unfortunately.

      Good luck with finishing Katherine; I’m looking forward to our book club discussion next month!


Leave a Reply

