Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Baked Kale Chips (New Recipe #87) November 25, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:12 AM
Tags: , , ,

019

 

As a fan of kale in soups and sautéed as a vegetable side, I have been curious about the Hungry Girl’s Baked Kale Chips recipe. I enjoy crunchy sides and snacks (which explains why I nearly always have jicama sticks at the ready in my fridge), especially when they are free of Points. When I made up a batch of the Hungry Girl’s Sloppy Joe Stir-Fry Slaw earlier this fall, the baked kale chips sounded like they would make for a complementary side dish to the sandwiches.

 

The recipe below could not be an easier one to follow, and it was quick, to boot. The only issue I had was how long to bake the kale leaves. While some of the leaves began to brown and burn around the edges, others were still soft in the middle. Perhaps I did not cut my “chips” in similar enough sizes. Whatever the cause, I had to pull some of the leaves off the baking sheet before the others.

 

As for taste, the kale chips lacked anything special. The salt added some flavor, but otherwise, the chips were just okay. I gave them 2.5 stars, and I haven’t been enticed to make them again. I have not given up on the idea of turning kale leaves into crispy chips, but I will try a different recipe next time.

 

Baked Kale Chips

2 cups fresh kale leaves
Olive oil nonstick spray
Dash salt, or more to taste

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Place kale leaves on a baking sheet sprayed with olive oil nonstick spray. Spritz leaves with the nonstick spray and sprinkle with salt.

3. Bake in the oven until crispy, 5 – 8 minutes, for a potato-chip-like snack. If you like, season to taste with additional salt.

Yield: 1 serving. Per serving, 0 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Baked Kale Chips (New Recipe #87)”

  1. […] was hot and ready to go within 15 minutes. I served the slaw on whole-wheat slider buns with Baked Kale Chips on the side. The recipe was not a successful one, however, as neither I nor John liked the flavor […]


Leave a Reply

