Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Cranberry Pumpkin Bars (New Recipe #86) November 17, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:56 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

005

 

Continuing on my pumpkin kick of late, one evening last week I made up a batch of Cranberry Pumpkin Bars. I found the recipe on WeightWatchers.com, and after the success of the WeightWatchers Pumpkin Oat Bread, I was eager to try these bars.

 

I made one small deviation from the recipe, using 1 cup all-purpose flour and ¼ cup whole-wheat pastry flour instead of just all-purpose flour. A little whole grain thrown in is never a bad idea, in my opinion!

 

The bars turned out more cake-like than their name implies. In fact, I kept referring to the leftovers as “Cranberry Pumpkin Bread.” The first evening I tried these, they were good but not anything too special, earning 3 stars. But the second day, they had become much more moist and I had to up their rating to 3.5 stars. They make for a great autumn dessert to serve alongside after-dinner coffee or hot tea, but they are also good at breakfast or for a snack during the day.

 

Cranberry Pumpkin Bars

1 cup packed light brown sugar
4 TB reduced-calorie margarine, soft, at room temperature
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 large egg
1 large egg white
1/3 cup buttermilk
1¼ cups all purpose flour
1½ cups uncooked old fashioned oats
1 TB pumpkin pie spice
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp table salt
2/3 cup dried cranberries

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Lightly coat a 9×13-inch baking pan with cooking spray, then dust lightly with flour.

2. In a large bowl, cream sugar and margarine with an electric mixer; beat in egg, egg white, pumpkin, and buttermilk.

3. In medium bowl, combine flour, oats, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt. Stir into pumpkin mixture just until moistened, then add cranberries and mix gently.

4. Spread batter in pan and bake 20 to 25 minutes or until center springs back when gently pressed. Cool and cut into 18 bars.

Yield: 18 servings. Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Cranberry Pumpkin Bars (New Recipe #86)”

  1. […] realizing it, I have apparently embarked upon a quest to make every pumpkin recipe that crosses my path. Just when I think that I have satisfied my pumpkin-baking urge for the year, […]

  2. […] I tried out the Hungry Girl’s Pumpkin Streusel Coffee Cake for breakfast. A well-documented fan of pumpkin, I was eager to try this light –and pumpkiny — version of coffee […]


Leave a Reply

