Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Pumpkin Bread Pudding (New Recipe #84) November 9, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 12:41 PM
Tags: , , , ,

001 003

 

In my last post, I expounded on the joys of bread pudding.  It is no surprise, therefore, that when I received the Hungry Girl’s recent e-mail with a recipe for pumpkin bread pudding, I immediately made plans to try it.  Bread pudding AND pumpkin?  TWO of my ultimate food pleasures all in one?  I had to get to baking.

 

Similarly to the Hungry Girl’s breakfast bread pudding bowl, this dessert recipe is a diet one–light this, fat-free that–but it is also low Points as a result.

 

As the bread pudding baked in the oven, it filled the kitchen with the warm, spicy aroma that I can never get too much of in the fall. I served it warm, topped with light vanilla ice cream. I was especially glad for the ice cream upon discovering that the bread pudding itself was not very sweet. The pumpkin, however, was just right–flavorful but not overpowering.  John wondered if the bread pudding would not be a good breakfast recipe, topped with maple syrup rather than ice cream.  We never tried it, but I just may next time.  As is, the recipe earned 3 stars from John and me. With non-light bread and more sugar, the recipe would definitely earn higher stars.  Too bad that means it would have a higher Points value, too!

 

Perfect Pumpkin Bread Pudding

12 slices light bread
¼ cup light whipped butter or light buttery spread
1 cup canned pure pumpkin
1 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute
¾ cup light vanilla soymilk (I used unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze)
¼ cup plus 2 TB brown sugar (not packed)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8″ X 8″ baking pan with nonstick spray.

2. Lightly toast bread, and cut into bite-sized pieces.

3. In a large microwave-safe bowl, microwave butter for 30 seconds, or until melted.

4. Add bread pieces to the bowl, and toss to coat.

5. In another large bowl, combine remaining ingredients except 2 TB brown sugar, and whisk until uniform. Add mixture to the bowl of buttered bread, and stir to coat.

6. Transfer mixture to the baking pan. Evenly top with remaining 2 TB brown sugar.

7. Bake until firm and set, 40 – 45 minutes. Let cool slightly, about 10 minutes.

Yield: 6 servings. Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Bread Pudding (New Recipe #84)”

  1. […] on my pumpkin kick of late, one evening last week I made up a batch of Cranberry Pumpkin Bars. I found the recipe on […]

  2. […] realizing it, I have apparently embarked upon a quest to make every pumpkin recipe that crosses my path. Just when I think that I have satisfied my pumpkin-baking urge […]


Leave a Reply

