Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Penne Beef Bake (New Recipe #81) October 20, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 2:46 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,

020 021

 

Coincidence or not? For the second weekend in a row, I have logged into my blog account in order to write a post that I should have written two months ago, only to discover that the next recipe on my blog backlog was one that I was making again that very day! Last weekend it was Creamy Tomato Soup; this weekend it is the Penne Beef Bake casserole.

 

I snagged this recipe from a Taste of Home cookbook over the summer. The infusion of vegetables in the pasta casserole was attractive to me, and I am always on the lookout for beef recipes that are lean and healthy. I am your typical chicken-and-fish woman, but my husband is your typical red-meat man. While John will happily eat chicken and fish, even he has his limits.

 

This recipe makes a huge casserole – perfect for when you are wanting leftovers to last a few days (and the leftovers were even tastier the second day!). The casserole is divided into 8 servings, each of which is very filling. In fact, there is so much veggie-pasta-meat goodness in the dish that I overflowed my 3.5-quart Dutch oven the first time I made it! When I prepare the casserole again tonight, I plan to use my wok in place of the Dutch oven.

 

I served the casserole with a side green salad and garlic toast. John and I ranked the Penne Beef Bake a solid 3.5 stars. And considering that I am cooking it again tonight, we obviously liked it well enough to have a second time!

 

Penne Beef Bake

1 package (12 oz) whole wheat penne pasta
1 lb lean ground beef (90% lean)
2 medium zucchini, finely chopped
1 large green pepper, finely chopped
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 jar (24 oz) meatless spaghetti sauce (with less than 6 g sugar per serving)
1½ cups reduced-fat Alfredo sauce
1 cup (4 oz) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
¼ tsp garlic powder

1. Cook penne according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a Dutch oven, cook the beef, zucchini, pepper, and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Stir in the spaghetti sauce, Alfredo sauce, ½ cup mozzarella cheese, and garlic powder. Drain penne; stir into meat mixture.

2. Transfer to a 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish coated with cooking spray. Cover and bake at 375° for 20 minutes. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella cheese. Bake, uncovered, 3-5 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

Yield: 8 servings. Per serving, 10 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Penne Beef Bake (New Recipe #81)”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    That looks yummy and like something the kids would like.

  2. […] Curry Thai Chicken Stir-Fry Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese* Penne Beef Bake Tortilla Casserole Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf […]


Leave a Reply

