Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Creamy Tomato Soup (New Recipe #80) October 14, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:54 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

017

 

Oh, how I have missed this blog! When I launched Being Mrs. Pierce in January, it was simply a way to document the 40 (later amended to 100) new recipes that I intended to try in 2013. As the weeks and months passed, however, I discovered a deep love of writing–and cooking–that I never knew I had. My time cooking in the kitchen and writing on my laptop became sources of joy for me, with Being Mrs. Pierce the link between the two.

 

Yet cooking and writing are my hobbies, not my career. And my elementary school teaching career once again took over my life in a big way in mid-August. Life became a day-to-day survival test; my blogging (but thankfully not my cooking) never could work its way to the top of my to-do list. With having today, Columbus Day, off from work, I finally managed to sit down and do a little writing. And wouldn’t you know? Today for lunch I unknowingly made the exact same recipe that was next on my blogging backlog from August: Ellie’s Krieger’s Creamy Tomato Soup.

 

My mother-in-law, Loveta, was the first one to try this recipe from Comfort Food Fix by Ellie Krieger. I had taken the cookbook down to Menard over the summer, and she picked out the recipe as one that sounded appealing to her. After she raved about the results, I also wanted to give the recipe a whirl.

 

I used my 3.5-quart Dutch oven for the soup, which was the perfect size. I used regular diced tomatoes the first time I made this, but I used fire-roasted ones today. The fire-roasted tomatoes added a flavor boost to the soup, so I plan to use them again when I make this soup in the future.

 

Here’s the soup, ready to be transformed from chunky to creamy:

014

 

For the first time, I used the immersion blender that John and I received as a wedding gift. I made an assortment of splatters all over my counter as I learned the feel of the appliance. (I did much better with the blender today; I only counted 2 splats!)

 

Here’s the soup, post-puréeing and with the cream:

015

 

For today’s version, I sautéed a cup or so of sliced fresh okra that Loveta brought me from Menard’s community garden this weekend. After puréeing the soup, I stirred in the cooked okra for a veggie boost. I am so glad that I followed Loveta’s advice and added this step! The okra made for a tasty addition; next time I intend to double the amount of okra.

 

Not having fresh chives on hand, I served the soup without them. It was still delicious! I gave the tomato soup 4 stars, and even John, who typically is not a fan of tomato soup, admitted today that he genuinely liked–and not just tolerated–the soup. It may have helped that I served the soup with grilled ham, cheese, and tomato sandwiches which turned out rather scrumptious. Ah, tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches on a rainy day spent at home. I love the simple things in life (and having a few extra minutes to blog about them).

 

Creamy Tomato Soup

1 TB olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
Two 14.5-oz cans no-salt-added diced tomatoes (I recommend fire-roasted)
2 TB tomato paste
2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
2 TB heavy cream
2 tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp ground white pepper
1 TB chopped fresh chives

1. Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the tomatoes, tomato paste, and chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium low and simmer, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly, about 15 minutes.

2. Working with about 1 cup at a time, purée the soup in a blender until smooth and then transfer the purée to another pot. (Alternatively, you can use an immersion blender.) Stir in the cream, sugar, salt, and white pepper. Serve garnished with the chives.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1½ cups). Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Creamy Tomato Soup (New Recipe #80)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    A blog post!

  2. […] next recipe on my blog backlog was one that I was making again that very day! Last weekend it was Creamy Tomato Soup; this weekend it is the Penne Beef Bake […]

  3. […] & Sandwiches Corn and Bacon Chowder* Creamy Tomato Soup* Italian Wedding Soup Pressed Pear Turkey […]


Leave a Reply

