Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Turkey, Potato, and Sage Patties (New Recipe #74) August 18, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 3:21 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

004

 

After my last batch of turkey breakfast patties turned out well, I have been eager to try this veggie-heavy version of the same concept from my mom’s WeightWatchers in 20 Minutes cookbook.

 

I grated the potato as directed, but I used my electric chopper on the onion. I needed to soak up quite a bit of liquid from the bottom of the bowl at this point in the preparation process.  Then I dived in with my own two hands to get the ingredients mixed up and formed into patties.  It took me 3 batches to get all 16 of the patties cooked, but I did not need the full 4 minutes on each side for the patties to be cooked through.

 

I especially enjoyed the presence of the potato in these patties, although that also meant needing ketchup on the side. I gave the recipe 3 stars, as the patties were good (but not great). The recipe yields a huge batch, and unfortunately, John and I discovered that they do not hold up very well as leftovers, either refrigerated or frozen.  Next time, I would half the recipe and/or wait until I have company to help me eat them all up at once.

 

Turkey, Potato, and Sage Patties

2 baking potatoes, peeled
1 large onion, peeled
1 lb lean ground turkey breast
2 egg whites
2 TB Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp dried sage
1 tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
4 tsp canola oil

1. Grate potato and onion into a large bowl. Add the turkey, egg whites, Worcestershire sauce, sage, salt, and pepper; mix until well combined. With damp hands, form the mixture into 16 patties.

2. Heat 2 tsp of the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the patties, in batches, and cook until browned and cooked through, about 4 minutes on each side.

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: 2 patties). Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

