Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Low-Fat Tangy Tomato Dressing (New Recipe #71) August 14, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:06 PM
Tags: , , ,

006

 

I have repeatedly read how homemade salad dressings are much healthier and tastier than store-bought ones. For the sake of convenience, I largely ignore these comments and continue to purchase my salad dressing from the grocery store. Yet this Taste of Home recipe caught my eye thanks to its brief list of ingredients and ease of preparation.

 

I blended up the dressing only an hour before serving it on side green salads to accompany my Greek Eggplant and Chicken Casserole. This was a mistake. It was not yet fully chilled and the flavors had not had time to incorporate. As a result, the dressing was much too vinegary for it to be enjoyable. I gave it 1 star.

 

The following day, however, I gave it another try. The vinegar taste had abated and the flavors from the Italian dressing mix were much more pronounced; I bumped my rating up to a 2. When it comes to tomato salad dressing, it turns out that I prefer mine sweet rather than tangy. For now, I will continue to happily buy my Lite Catalina dressing in its manufactured, bottled form.

 

Low-Fat Tangy Tomato Dressing

1 can (14.5 oz) no-salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
1 envelope Italian salad dressing mix
1 TB cider vinegar
1 TB olive oil

Place all ingredients in a blender; cover and process until blended.

Yield: 2 cups (serving size: 2 TB). Per serving, 0 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

