Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Blueberry Corn Bread (New Recipe #68) August 12, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 6:43 PM
Tags: , , ,

011

 

While flipping through the Moosewood Cookbook last week, this blueberry variation on Mollie Katzen’s corn bread recipe caught my eye due to the unusual pairing of corn and blueberries. Immediately I began brainstorming a reason to make it, and I quickly thought of the upcoming cookout with my coworkers. I had been wanting to prepare a second dish to take in addition to the Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw.

 

I made the corn bread right before the cookout. I was running a little late, so it made for a rather rushed preparation experience. In fact, I ended up pulling the corn bread out of the oven right at 20 minutes and did not take the time to fully check its level of doneness. As a result, the middle of the corn bread did not get fully cooked, and I had to throw out the innermost pieces.

 

John and I were almost the only ones to nibble on the corn bread at the cookout, but I suspect that had to do with its placement on the counter. It ended up by the desserts, but it is a side dish, not a sweet. I wish I had promoted the corn bread more (or at least taken the initiative to move the corn bread to another spot amongst the food spread), because John and I both loved it and awarded it 4 stars. It’s unique and a spot-on summer side for grilled meats and light salads.

 

Blueberry Corn Bread

Cooking spray, butter, or margarine, for the pan
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk or yogurt (I used nonfat plain yogurt)
1 egg
¼ cup sugar or honey (I used sugar)
3 TB melted butter or margarine (I used butter)
1½ cups fresh blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8-inch square pan (or a 9- or 10-inch cast iron skillet) with cooking spray, butter, or margarine.

2. Combine the dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. Combine the wet ingredients (including sugar or honey) separately. Stir the wet mixture into the dry, mixing just enough to thoroughly combine. Gently stir the blueberries into the batter. Spread into the prepared pan.

3. Cook for 20 minutes, or until the center is firm to the touch. Serve hot, warm, or at room temperature.

Yield: 8-16 servings, depending on how you cut the pan. When divided into 9 servings, 5 PointsPlus. When divided into 16 servings, 3 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

