Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw (New Recipe #67) August 10, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 6:06 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,

008

 

Two nights ago, John and I attended a potluck cookout with the other 4th and 5th grade teachers at my school. Our hosts were supplying the meat, and the rest of us were to fill out the menu. I knew I wanted to take a vegetable side, but none of the ones in my repertoire sounded appealing. I decided to try out a new recipe from the Taste of Home Healthy Cooking Annual Recipes cookbook the night before, and if it was a winner, I’d make a second batch to take to the cookout.

 

If you have been following my blog from the beginning, you will know that I am a major fan of broccoli slaw. The remaining ingredients in this recipe–almonds, raisins, and honey, notably–are also favorites. I felt fairly confident the recipe would be an enjoyable one.

 

I plumped my raisins first, having just learned how to do so. While the raisins soaked, I zested and whisked together the dressing. I made the slaw one hour before dinner to allow it to fully chill. Immediately I noticed the large amount of liquid at the bottom of the bowl. I stirred the slaw again, but the pool remained. Taste-wise, the slaw was fresh and citrus-y. It was a definite winner! I granted it 3.5 stars, which John seconded.

 

I decided that the recipe was worthy of being taken to the cookout, but I tweaked the dressing when I made the second batch for the party. I cut the honey, olive oil, and orange juice to 1 TB each, and I reduced the orange zest to 1 tsp. I then added just a dash of salt rather than the ¼ tsp. This amount of dressing was just perfect. It still provided lots of flavor for the broccoli slaw without having the excess liquid. It also dropped the PointsPlus value down to 3 per serving. I would highly recommend making these adjustments, although I did provide the original recipe below, should you want to try it for yourself first.

 

Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw

1 package (12 oz) broccoli coleslaw mix
1/3 cup sliced almonds
1/3 cup raisins
2 to 3 TB honey
2 TB olive oil
2 TB orange juice
4 tsp grated orange peel
¼ tsp salt

In a large bowl, combine the coleslaw mix, almonds, and raisins. In a small bowl, whisk the remaining ingredients. Pour over salad; toss to coat.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 2/3 cup).  Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw (New Recipe #67)”

  1. […] While flipping through the Moosewood Cookbook last week, this blueberry variation on Mollie Katzen’s corn bread recipe caught my eye due to the unusual pairing of corn and blueberries. Immediately I began brainstorming a reason to make it, and I quickly thought of the upcoming cookout with my coworkers. I had been wanting to prepare a second dish to take in addition to the Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw. […]

  2. Mr. Pierce Says:

    You are the broccoli slaw queen!

  3. […] Beans with Chili Garlic Sauce Fresh Corn Fritters* The Rat(atouille) Pack Zucchini-Ribbon Salad Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw Curried Lentil and Rice Salad* Whole Roasted Garlic Caramelized Onion Fillo […]


Leave a Reply

