Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Herbed Salmon Croquettes and Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives (New Recipes #62 and #63) August 6, 2013

011

 

Another Ellie Krieger recipe that recently caught my attention while I was perusing her Comfort Food Fix cookbook was the Herbed Salmon Croquettes. Salmon patties have been of interest to me this year, so I was eager to try Ellie’s version. I also decided to follow her suggestion of making Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives to serve along with the croquettes. The dip seemed to be a fun, mustard-y twist on traditional tartar sauce.

 

I whipped up the dip recipe first so that it could chill and the flavors could blend before dinnertime. Preferring a little spice in my food, I added the optional cayenne pepper.

009

 

After the dip was ready, I started on the salmon croquettes. The recipe calls for only 2 slices of bread for the crumbs, but using Sara Lee’s light whole-wheat bread and my KitchenAid mini chopper, it took more than 3 slices of bread for me to achieve 1¾ cups of crumbs. Besides increasing the amount of bread, the only other alteration I made to the recipe was using 2 tsp dried dill instead of 2 TB fresh.

 

As soon as I began to form the patties, I worried that they would not stick together very well. I tried different amounts of thickness and width to the patties, but no matter what I did, the croquettes fell apart. It was difficult to coat them evenly in the remaining bread crumbs because of this, so I ended up sort of patting the crumbs onto the patties. I hoped that once in the skillet, the croquettes would hold together as they cooked, which they did somewhat. Yet when we sat down to eat dinner and cut into them, the patties crumbled apart. While they tasted quite good, they were rather messy to eat even when using a fork. John awarded them 3 stars, with potential for more; I gave them 3.5 with potential for 4. Next time, I may experiment with using an additional egg white and/or refrigerating the patties for a little while before dipping them into the bread crumbs and cooking them in the skillet.

 

As for the mustard dip, it was incredibly tangy when I sampled it by itself, but I enjoyed it with the salmon croquettes enough to give it 3 stars. John gave the dip only 2 stars, preferring to eat his croquettes with ketchup.

 

Herbed Salmon Croquettes

2 slices whole-wheat bread (I used 3.5 slices)
2 TB olive oil
1 small onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
Two 5-oz pouches skinless, boneless salmon, drained of any excess water
1 TB Dijon mustard
1 rib celery, finely diced
2 large egg whites
3 TB chopped fresh parsley leaves
2 TB chopped fresh dill (I used 2 tsp dried)
1/8 tsp salt
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
Olive oil cooking spray
1 recipe Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives, optional

1. Place the bread in a food processor and process until fine crumbs are formed. You should wind up with about 1¾ cups of crumbs.

2. Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a small nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softened and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly, about 5 minutes.

3. In a large bowl, combine 1 cup of the bread crumbs, the onion mixture, the salmon, mustard, celery, egg whites, parsley, dill, salt, and black pepper, mixing well to combine. Form into eight 2½-inch patties and gently press each patty in the remaining ¾ cup bread crumbs. Heat the remaining 4 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook the croquettes until browned on one side, about 3 minutes. Spray the tops with oil spray, flip, and cook 3 minutes more, until browned and warmed through. Serve with Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 croquettes). Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives

1/3 cup plain Greek-style nonfat yogurt
2 TB mayonnaise
1 TB Dijon mustard
½ tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 TB snipped fresh chives
Pinch cayenne pepper, optional

In a small bowl, stir together the yogurt, mayonnaise, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, chives, and cayenne pepper, if using.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 TB). Per serving, 1 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Herbed Salmon Croquettes and Creamy Mustard Dip with Chives (New Recipes #62 and #63)”

  1. […] Considering that I’ve been slightly obsessed with the Comfort Food Fix cookbook for the past week, it was inevitable that I would make a loaf of this […]

  2. […] I already had in my refrigerator and pantry. The dip was extremely easy to make, especially because I had made it once last year. Into the fridge it went so that the flavors would meld and the dip would be chilled before […]


Leave a Reply

