Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Sweet ‘n’ Sour Sausage Stir-Fry (New Recipe #57) July 31, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 2:38 PM

Vacation often is an excuse to leave healthy eating behind. My mom and I were determined, however, not to let that happen during our stay in Jackson, Wyoming. My dad had lost almost 40 pounds on WeightWatchers before the trip, and we wanted to see his progress continue–even during vacation. I, too, was interested in watching what I ate on the trip so that I would maintain and not gain. Therefore, the week before the trip, my mom and I sat down together and planned a few meals. With ready access to a full kitchen, cooking dinner for ourselves would easily be accomplished.

 

For one of our dinners, I suggested this stir-fry recipe which I had gotten from my sister-in-law, Kalyn. She had made the stir-fry for me earlier this summer, so I knew it was a tasty one even though I had yet to make it myself.

 

We tripled the recipe to ensure we would have enough food for six adults and one toddler. As a result, I had two skillets going simultaneously on the stove. This would have been a little chaotic had I not had my mom’s help. As it was, we put the dinner together, complete with steamed brown rice and sugar snap peas, in relatively short order.

 

Everyone seemed to enjoy the stir-fry, and we ate up almost all of it. John commented that the dish was an Asian form of beanie-weenies, thanks to the presence of turkey sausage in an Asian stir-fry. He had a point! My favorite part of the dish was the sticky sauce, which thickened up nicely and had a nice, sweet flavor to it courtesy of the pineapple juice. I gave the recipe a solid 3 stars. My only disappointment with the stir-fry was that I failed to snap a picture of it!

 

Sweet ‘n’ Sour Sausage Stir-Fry

1 (14-oz) package smoked turkey sausage, cut into 1/2-inch slices
2 small onions, quartered and separated
1 cup shredded carrots
1 (8-oz) can unsweetened pineapple chunks, undrained
1 TB cornstarch
½ to 1 tsp ground ginger
6 TB water
2 TB reduced-sodium soy sauce

1.  Stir-fry sausage and onions in a large nonstick skillet for 3-4 minutes or until lightly browned.  Add carrots; stir-fry until crisp-tender.  Drain pineapple, reserving juice.  Add pineapple to sausage mixture.

2.  Combine cornstarch and ginger.  Stir in the water, soy sauce, and reserved pineapple juice until smooth.  Add to skillet.  Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 1-2 minutes or until thickened.  Serve over rice, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 1 cup).  Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Sweet ‘n’ Sour Sausage Stir-Fry (New Recipe #57)”

  1. segmation Says:

    What a nice recipe! I will have to try this out!


Leave a Reply

