Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal (New Recipe #56) July 30, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 1:30 PM

020

 

While in Jackson, WY with my family earlier this month, I woke up early every morning. I am a certified morning person so waking up early is typical for me, but thanks to the one-hour time difference, I usually was awake by 5 or 6 AM during our time in Jackson. The day we were to visit Yellowstone National Park was no exception. Since I had to wait until the rest of my family was awake and ready to go at a more normal time, I put the extra hours to good use by making a homemade breakfast for us all.

 

Thanks to my in-laws, I have sampled a variety of homemade baked oatmeal over the past two years. This particular morning in Jackson would be my first attempt to make baked oatmeal myself. I chose a recipe from the Taste of Home Healthy Cooking Annual Recipes cookbook that I knew was a winner, as my mother-in-law, Loveta, had made it for me and John in Menard earlier this year. I had been eager to try my hand at making baked oatmeal, and I could make it gluten-free for my mom, so it was an easy choice for our trip.

 

I followed the recipe to a T, and it baked up just as expected. The only issues I had were finding cooking utensils in an unfamiliar kitchen!  I love this particular baked oatmeal, as the apple and cinnamon fill the house with a warm, spicy aroma as it bakes. It also tastes as good as it smells; I easily rate this recipe as 4 stars. While it will be especially good in autumn, I plan to make this baked oatmeal year-round.

 

Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal

3 cups old-fashioned oats
½ cup Splenda brown sugar blend
2 tsp baking powder
1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1 egg
1 egg white
2 cups fat-free milk
1 medium apple, chopped
1/3 cup raisins
¼ cup pecans

1. In a large bowl, combine the first six ingredients. Whisk eggs and milk; stir into dry ingredients until blended. Let stand for 5 minutes. Stir in the apple, raisins, and pecans.

2. Transfer to an 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake, uncovered, at 350˚ for 35-40 minutes or until edges are lightly browned and a thermometer reads 160˚.

Yield: 8 servings. Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal (New Recipe #56)”

  1. […] & Breads Cheese and Tomato Omelet Turkey Breakfast Sausage Baked Peach Pancake Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal* Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins* Brown Sugar-Banana Waffles Baked Banana Oatmeal* Better Blueberry […]


Leave a Reply

