Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Unique Greek Turkey Burgers (New Recipe #53) July 21, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 3:38 PM

003C

 

Earlier this month, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. John had to be in Waco for class during the day, so I had the pleasure of spending the day with my mom at her house. We went for a walk together in the morning at a nearby park, and then we cooled off in her swimming pool. Best of all, we made ourselves a Mediterranean feast for lunch! I always enjoy cooking with my mom, so it was the perfect way to spend my day.

 

For the main entrée, I chose The Hungry Girl’s Unique Greek Turkey Burgers. When it comes to burgers, most of the time I stick with plain turkey or Morning Star veggie patties because they are convenient and fairly good, but who wants just decent food on her birthday?

 

My mom and I worked together to prepare the patties for the grill, although she took over the actual grilling once the patties were assembled. We got to laughing at one point in the patty preparation when I looked down at my hands fully immersed in the bowl of raw turkey and veggies, squishing and mixing away. I commented, “Wow, I have come a long way in my cooking.” She replied that she had just been thinking the same thing! At one time, I all but refused to go anywhere near raw meat. My mom would have to warn me so that I could look away–or even leave the kitchen–at certain moments during meal preparation. Then we got to laughing about the time when she was feeling mischievous and chased me around the house with a whole raw chicken on her hand! Oh, what good times mothers and daughters share.

 

Back to the Greek turkey burgers: they made a mess on the grill (sorry, Dad!) but they were delicious. We ate them with lettuce, tomato, and red onion rather than on a bun, but that just allowed their flavor to stand out all the more. I ranked them a solid 4 stars.

 

Unique Greek Turkey Burgers

 

¼ cup finely chopped onion
1 tsp chopped garlic
4 cups chopped spinach leaves
1 lb raw lean ground turkey
2 large egg whites or ¼ cup liquid egg whites
½ tsp dried basil
½ tsp dried oregano
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp black pepper
½ cup crumbled fat-free feta cheese
Optional: large lettuce leaves, sliced onion, sliced tomato

 

1.  Bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat on the stove. Add onion and garlic and, stirring often, cook until softened, about 4 minutes.

 

2.  Add spinach to the skillet with onion and garlic. Stirring often, cook until spinach has wilted and excess moisture has evaporated, 3 – 5 minutes.

 

3.  Remove skillet from heat. Once cool enough to handle, carefully blot away any excess moisture from the onion-spinach mixture with paper towels. Set aside.

 

4.  In a large bowl, combine turkey, egg whites, basil, oregano, salt, and pepper. Using your hands, mix well. Add cooked veggies and feta cheese to the bowl. Using your hands, mix until uniform.

 

5.  Evenly divide turkey mixture and firmly form into four patties. (Cover and refrigerate if not cooking immediately.)

 

6.  Bring a grill (or skillet or grill pan) sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat. Add patties, cover, and cook for 5 – 8 minutes per side, until cooked through. If using a skillet or grill pan, work in batches, removing skillet or pan from heat between batches to re-spray.

 

7.  Eat your patties with a knife and fork or, if you like, wrap them up in some lettuce leaves with onion and tomato.

 

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 patty). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Unique Greek Turkey Burgers (New Recipe #53)”

  1. […] part of the Mediterranean feast for my birthday lunch, my mom and I made up 2 batches of The Hungry Girl’s Caprese-Style Grilled Tomatoes to go […]

  2. […] birthday meal is complete without a sweet bite at the end? To finish my birthday lunch with my mom, who is gluten-free, she and I decided to try this WeightWatchers recipe for […]

  3. […] Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin* Makeover Real-Man Quiche* Mediterranean-Style Frittata Unique Greek Turkey Burgers Simple Roast […]


Leave a Reply

