Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Fresh Corn Fritters (New Recipe #51) June 30, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 2:08 PM

025C

 

One sign of summer is fresh corn-on-the-cob for sale. Not being a major corn fan, I typically walk right on by the display. Yet my husband loves corn, so when I saw this Fresh Corn Fritters recipe in the latest WeightWatchers 15 Minute Recipes magazine, I pledged to make up a batch for him.

 

Being relatively new to cooking with corn kernels still on the cob, I did a Google search to find this easy tip for getting corn off the cob. The bundt pan trick worked beautifully! I soon had my 2 cups of fresh corn kernels ready to go.

 

After I had prepared the batter, I worried that the fritters would not hold together well in the skillet because there did not seem to be enough batter for the amount of corn kernels in the bowl. Yet once I had scooped the ¼-cup mounds into the hot skillet and let them sizzle for a few minutes, I had no trouble flipping the fritters over. There were a few corn kernels that went astray, but overall, the fritters held together well.

 

Here is my first batch in the skillet, prior to flipping:

 

024C

 

While the fritters were cooking, John commented more than once about how good they were smelling (always a good sign for a chef!). And then upon first bite, we were rewarded with the scrumptious taste of buttery, sweet, crispy corn. The fritters were fantastic. They were so delicious, in fact, that John had to clarify–twice–that this was a WeightWatchers recipe. John gave the fritters the best rating of any recipe I’ve made so far this year: 4.5 stars. I gave them a solid 4, which I consider a high rating considering my usual neutrality on corn in general.  I anticipate that these corn fritters will become a summertime staple in the Pierce household.

 

Fresh Corn Fritters

1.1 oz all-purpose flour (about ¼ cup)
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground red pepper
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 cups fresh corn kernels (about 4 small ears)
2 TB butter
Cooking spray

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Stir in corn.

2. Melt 1 TB butter in a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Spoon 4 (¼-cup) batter mounds onto pan. Cook 3 minutes on each side or until lightly browned. Remove fritters from pan; drain on paper towels. Repeat procedure with 1 TB butter and ¾ cup batter.

Yield: 7 servings (serving size: 1 fritter). Per serving, 3 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Fresh Corn Fritters (New Recipe #51)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    What are you doing blogging! Go make me some corn fritters!!!

  2. […] Wilted Spinach Sautéed Swiss Chard Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps Green Beans with Chili Garlic Sauce Fresh Corn Fritters* The Rat(atouille) Pack Zucchini-Ribbon Salad Honey-Orange Broccoli Slaw Curried Lentil and Rice […]

  3. […] over to our house for a home-cooked birthday dinner. On the menu: Honey-Crisp Oven Fried Chicken, Fresh Corn Fritters, Zucchini Hash, and Buttermilk Biscuits. With such a down-home feast, what else could I have served […]


Leave a Reply

