Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Baked Peach Pancake (New Recipe #50) June 29, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 1:41 PM

021C

 

Prior to coming across this recipe in the most recent Taste of Home Healthy Cooking Annual Recipes cookbook, I was unaware of baked pancakes. The recipe sounded like a fun one to try, however. Who doesn’t like to peek into the oven and find a tasty treat that has “risen and puffed all over”?

 

With my sister-in-law Kalyn in town, this morning was the perfect time to whip up a baked pancake. Kalyn is an avid and expert cook, and I enjoy hearing about all of the delicious new recipes she has made. When I learned that she was interested in baked pancakes but had never made one herself, I knew I had chosen well.

 

I followed the recipe exactly until the end of step 2. I used my cast-iron skillet, which is larger than 10 inches, so I took my baked pancake out of the oven after only 12 minutes. With the batter spread more thin in the larger skillet, it cooked more quickly than the recipe stated.  The edges had browned, and there was a sea of gentle puffs across the surface. It was more yellow and egg-like than I had anticipated based upon the use of “pancake” in the recipe’s name.

 

The baked pancake tasted delicious. As Kalyn commented, it had a very unique taste and texture. I would neither describe it as an egg dish or a pancake dish; its taste and consistency fell somewhere in between. The sugared peaches were just right for the recipe, as they added a touch of sweetness.  I did not try it with the optional sour cream.  I gave the baked pancake 3.5 stars.

 

This recipe will be memorable not just for the yummy breakfast it made, but also because of the companion I had while making it. My 11-month-old niece, Lydia, sat quietly and sweetly nearby while I cooked breakfast. Everyone else in the house was either sleeping or showering, so it was just us girls for a little while. Thank you, Miss Lydia, for keeping me company this morning.

 

(As a proud aunt, I would be remiss in not posting a photo of Lydia at this time.)

 

015C

 

Baked Peach Pancake

2 cups fresh or frozen sliced peeled peaches
4 tsp sugar
1 tsp lemon juice
3 eggs
½ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup whole milk
½ tsp salt
2 TB butter
Ground nutmeg
Sour cream, optional

1. In a small bowl, combine peaches, sugar, and lemon juice; set aside. In a large bowl, beat eggs until fluffy. Add the flour, milk, and salt; beat until smooth.

2. Place butter in a 10-inch ovenproof skillet in a 400˚ oven for 3-5 minutes, or until melted. Immediately pour batter into hot skillet. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until pancake has risen and puffed all over.

3. Fill with peach slices and sprinkle with nutmeg. Serve immediately with sour cream, if desired.

Yield: 6 servings. Per serving, 4 PointsPlus (without sour cream).

 

One Response to “Baked Peach Pancake (New Recipe #50)”

  1. […] & Breads Cheese and Tomato Omelet Turkey Breakfast Sausage Baked Peach Pancake Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal* Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins* Brown Sugar-Banana Waffles Baked Banana […]


Leave a Reply

