Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Spiced Oatmeal Brûlée (New Recipe #49) June 23, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 2:44 PM

002C

 

This morning I found myself reflecting on how much my cooking confidence has grown since I began my quest to cook 40 (now 100) new recipes in 2013. Six months ago, I never would have cooked a new recipe for family or friends without first doing a trial run. Now I ask myself, Why not? Nearly 50 recipes into the year, I have yet to experience a true failure. Disappointments, yes. But–luckily–everything I have cooked has at least been edible.

 

So it was with confidence (and perhaps with fingers crossed, as well) that I embarked upon today’s new recipe: Spiced Oatmeal Brûlée from the WeightWatchers in 20 Minutes cookbook. My in-laws, John and Loveta, were in town for the weekend to help John and me with our year-in-the-making garage sale. Whenever we visit John and Loveta in Menard, they always make baked oatmeal, one of my favorite breakfast dishes. In fact, I credit my love of baked oatmeal to my in-laws, as they were the ones to first introduce me to the dish on my very first trip to Menard after John and I started dating.  I therefore wanted to try the Spiced Oatmeal Brûlée recipe when John and Loveta were in town because the recipe reminded me a lot of baked oatmeal. The major difference was that this oatmeal recipe was primarily cooked upon the stove top rather than baked in the oven.

 

The recipe was fairly effortless to make. While I waited for the milk to start simmering on the stove, I measured out the dry ingredients and had them at the ready. From there, the oatmeal cooked up just as the recipe indicated, and all in less than 20 minutes.

 

The oatmeal received praise all around the table. It was not as sweet as baked oatmeal, but it was creamier. While I will eat oatmeal both sweetened and unsweetened, I would strongly consider adding a little more brown sugar to this recipe. As is, it earned a solid 3 stars.

 

Spiced Oatmeal Brûlée

4 cups fat-free milk
¼ cup golden raisins
¼ cup dried blueberries
¼cup dried cranberries
3 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
¼ tsp salt
1½ TB packed light brown sugar

1. Preheat the broiler.

2. Meanwhile, bring the milk to a low simmer in a large saucepan set over medium-high heat. Stir in all the remaining ingredients except the brown sugar. Cook, stirring frequently, about 2 minutes. Reduce the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the oatmeal is creamy, about 3 minutes longer.

3. Spread the cereal mixture in an 8-inch square baking dish; sprinkle evenly with the brown sugar. Broil 5 inches from the heat until the sugar caramelizes, about 30 seconds. Let the oatmeal stand about 2 minutes before serving.

Yield: 6 servings. Per serving, 7 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Spiced Oatmeal Brûlée (New Recipe #49)”

  1. Loveta Says:

    This was a delicious breakfast – and we enjoyed the whole weekend. Love you two!


Leave a Reply

