Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake (New Recipe #48) June 18, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:26 PM

006C

 

When planning for my mom’s Mother’s Day lunch last month, I initially was split between making a Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake and a Lemon Summer Pudding Cake. I went with the pudding cake in the end, but filed the stack cake recipe away for later use. As it turns out, Father’s Day was just the excuse I needed to make this dessert! My dad is among the members of my family counting Points, so this WeightWatchers recipe would be a (hopefully) tasty conclusion to his Father’s Day lunch.

 

The afternoon prior to Father’s Day, I baked an angel food cake using a gluten-free cake mix so that my mom could partake of the dessert. Lacking an angel food cake pan, I used my bundt pan instead. While the cake was baking in the oven, I researched online how to toast coconut, never having done so before.  I wanted to be prepared!

 

On Father’s Day morning, it was time to assemble the cake. For the lemon curd, I used a jar of homemade lemon curd from Prince Edward Island, Canada that my husband and I bought on our honeymoon last summer. (I then proceeded to spend much of the prep time reflecting back on our wonderful trip. Luckily, my wandering thoughts did not affect the outcome of the cake.) As I folded the lemon curd into the whipped topping, the mixture took on a delectable, icing-like form. My hopes for the cake raised even higher!

 

Layer by layer, I began to build the stack cake. Here’s the bottom layer:

 

002C

 

And the middle layer, complete:

 

003C

 

And the final, fully-assembled cake:

 

005C

 

I thoroughly enjoyed making this cake, and I was very pleased with how it turned out, both in looks and in taste. It was light and fresh – a perfect summer dessert. I rated the cake 3.5 stars, slightly lower than the 4 stars I gave the Lemon Summer Pudding Cake. John liked this cake slightly better; my parents said they couldn’t pick one over the other. We all agreed, however, that this recipe is a winner!

 

Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake

1 (15-oz) round angel food cake
¾ cup lemon curd
1½ cups frozen reduced-calorie whipped topping, thawed and divided
1 cup blueberries
½ cup flaked sweetened coconut, toasted

1. Turn cake upside down on work surface. Cut cake horizontally into thirds using a serrated or electric knife.

2. Fold lemon curd into 1 cup whipped topping. Spread half of lemon mixture over cut side of bottom cake layer; sprinkle with ½ cup blueberries. Top with second cake layer, remaining half of lemon mixture, and ½ cup blueberries. Top with remaining cake layer.

2. Spread ½ cup whipped topping on top of cake; sprinkle with coconut.

Yield: 10 servings (serving size: 1 slice). Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.   [Alternately, divide into 12 servings for a PointsPlus value of 5 per serving.]

 

One Response to “Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake (New Recipe #48)”

  1. […] Lemon Summer Pudding Cake Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake Flourless Chocolate Cakes Peach Cobbler Layered Chocolate-Banana Pudding* Downside-Up Peanut Butter […]


Leave a Reply

