Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Hoppin’ John-Style Rice (New Recipe #46) June 16, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 6:03 AM

001C 005C

 

My One Day Cooking Challenge: One New Recipe Per Meal
Part 3: Dinner

 

To finish up my one day cooking challenge on Friday, I settled on a side dish for my new recipe at dinner. The quiche at lunch and the pancakes at breakfast were both recipes that took some time to prepare, so I was wanting an easier meal to round out the day.

 

I chose a WeightWatchers recipe, Hoppin’ John-Style Rice, because it made me think of my husband, whose name is John. He also enjoys black-eyed peas (as do I, I’ve come to find out).

 

The two major short-cuts in the recipe–canned black-eyed peas and pre-cooked rice–made this side dish incredibly quick to prepare. I had it warm and ready on the stove in less time than it took the brussels sprouts (my other side dish) to roast in the oven. To complete the meal, I simply warmed some thick slices of Canadian bacon in a skillet on the stove.

 

The Hoppin’ John-Style Rice was good, but it needed more kick. It was somewhat bland, so another garlic clove and/or a dash or two of Cajun seasoning or cayenne pepper would have been welcome. The rice side still earned 3 stars from us both, and I plan to try it again sometime (with a little tweaking).

 

Hoppin’ John-Style Rice

2 tsp olive oil
¼ cup finely chopped green onions
1 garlic clove, minced
1 (15.8-oz) can black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained
1 (8.8-oz) package microwavable cooked brown rice (I used an Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice package)

1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; add onions and garlic. Sauté 30 seconds or until lightly browned. Add peas; cook 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

2. While peas cook, microwave rice according to package directions.

3. Add rice to pea mixture; toss well.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: ¾ cup). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a Reply

