Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Apple Fritter Pancakes (New Recipe #44) June 14, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 6:40 PM

002C

 

My One Day Cooking Challenge: One New Recipe Per Meal
Part 1: Breakfast

 

The other night, John challenged me to cook 10 new recipes in a day. He was only joking…I think. At any rate, I was inspired to set a mini-goal within my 100-new-recipes cooking goal for the year: try one new recipe at each meal on a single day. Today was that day, and it all began at breakfast.

 

I love breakfast foods, but when I am in the midst of the school year, I stick with quickly-prepared fare, such as toasted English muffins, Greek yogurt, or oatmeal. Summer break, therefore, is the perfect opportunity for me to expand my breakfast repertoire. For this morning’s meal, I chose to whip up a batch of Apple Fritter Pancakes from the latest edition of the WeightWatchers 15 Minutes Recipes Magazine. I especially love apple-centered breakfast foods.

 

I made one substitution to the recipe: I used ¾ cup whole-wheat pastry flour and ½ cup all-purpose flour instead of the listed 1¼ cups all-purpose flour. I also peeled and grated the apple instead of finely chopping it.

 

The batter was thicker than typical pancake batter; I had to use a spatula to scoop out each ¼-cupful onto the griddle. Then I had to press the batter down onto the griddle’s surface to make the pancakes spread out into circles. I had a little trouble getting the temperature of my griddle just right (it had been a while since I had used it to make pancakes), but eventually I got into a pancake-making groove.

 

My batch of batter yielded 11.5 pancakes – 1.5 more than the recipe stated. The pancakes smelled warm and spicy as they cooked on the griddle, but their taste was a tad disappointing. The apple flavor did not come through as much as I would have hoped; John and I both gave them 3 stars. I would consider making the pancakes again, perhaps tweaking the recipe by adding slightly more liquid and spice.

 

Apple Fritter Pancakes

1¼ cups all-purpose flour
2 TB sugar
1½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp apple pie spice
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
1 cup finely chopped Fuji apple
1 cup low-fat buttermilk
2 TB butter, melted
1 large egg, lightly beaten

1. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Stir apple into flour mixture. Combine buttermilk, butter, and egg, whisking until blended. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist.

2. Pour about ¼ cup batter per pancake onto a hot nonstick griddle or nonstick skillet. Cook 3 minutes or until tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Carefully turn pancakes over, and cook 2 minutes or until bottoms are lightly browned.

Yield: 5 servings (serving size: 2 pancakes). Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Apple Fritter Pancakes (New Recipe #44)”

  1. […] making Apple Fritter Pancakes for breakfast yesterday morning, it was time to move on to the next phase of my one day cooking challenge: lunch. […]

  2. […] on Friday, I settled on a side dish for my new recipe at dinner. The quiche at lunch and the pancakes at breakfast were both recipes that took some time to prepare, so I was wanting an easier meal to round out the […]


Leave a Reply

