Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Gluten-Free Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (New Recipe #43) June 6, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 2:52 PM

003

 

I have an amazing mom. She has given up innumerable hours this school year to help me in my classroom, including a stint last week in which she made over 80 crepes for students during my special two-day “French 101” class. She even donned a chef’s hat and apron to fully play the part (costumes are a sign of true dedication).

 

In an effort to say thanks, on Tuesday night I made my mom a batch of homemade gluten-free muffins (she is gluten-intolerant). My mother-in-law had recently sent me a Tasty Kitchen recipe for gluten-free lemon poppy seed muffins, and when I mentioned them to my mom, she commented how much she enjoys lemon poppy seed flavored baked goods, but that she cannot find pre-made ones from her usual sources. I immediately knew that I had to make her a batch of the Tasty Kitchen muffins!

 

While making the muffins, I relished having the chance to use my KitchenAid professional mixer.  With me being on WeightWatchers, there has been little baking in my house over the past six months. Now that I have reached maintenance phase, however, I hope to work more (health-minded) baking into my cooking routine.

 

The recipe was easy to follow, and the lemon-scented batter had a wonderful, fresh aroma as I spooned it into the muffin cups. It also made a large batch – I got 21 muffins out of my batter.

 

I left it to John to taste-test the muffins (I am still counting Points while on maintenance phase), and he awarded them 4 (out of 5) stars. He thought they were delicious and that you’d never know they were gluten-free just by the taste. I was more than happy with the way they turned out, and I was pleased to be able to present them as a gift to my mom. As my mom exclaimed to each student as she presented him or her with a freshly-made crepe, Bon Appetit!

 

Gluten-Free Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

1¼ cup milk
2 TB fresh lemon juice
12 TB butter, at room temperature
1¼ cup sugar
2 whole large eggs
2 TB lemon zest
1 TB vanilla extract
3 cups commercially prepared all-purpose gluten-free flour mix (I used the Gluten-Free Pantry brand)
2 TB poppy seeds
1 TB baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt

1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Line two 12-count muffin trays with paper liners (recipe makes 1 1/2 to 2 dozen).

2. Add the milk to a small bowl and pour the lemon juice over it; let it sit for 2 minutes without moving the bowl or stirring the milk.

3. Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl, and then cream in the eggs until light and fluffy. Beat in the lemon zest, vanilla, and milk/lemon juice mixture (which will be curdled). Set aside.

4. Whisk together the flour mix, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a separate large bowl.

5. Add the wet ingredients into the dry all at once and gently stir with a wooden spoon until just combined, being careful not to over-mix.

6. Fill each muffin well about 2/3 full and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18 to 20 minutes. (My batch was done in 15 minutes.)

 

One Response to “Gluten-Free Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (New Recipe #43)”

  1. […] Waffles Baked Banana Oatmeal* Better Blueberry Muffins* Honey Whole-Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread Gluten-Free Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins Pumpkin Oat Bread* Sweet and Savory Breakfast Bread Pudding Yippee Chippee Chocolate Chip Muffins […]


Leave a Reply

