Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps (New Recipe #40) May 28, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:11 PM

002C

 

This marks the 40th new recipe I’ve tried in 2013! Considering that my original goal was to try 40 over the course of 12 months, I’m proud of myself for reaching my goal in just 5. I’ve been debating about where to set my revised goal for the year, as I have no intention of stopping my culinary experiments now. Doubling my goal to 80 makes sense, but a niggling part of me wants to be ambitious and try for 100. With summer vacation in sight, I am feeling just confident enough to set 100 new recipes as my revised target!  You saw it here first.

 

Now on to the 40th recipe itself: Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps. The recipe is a WeightWatchers one that I copied down last Christmas break while visiting my in-laws. I am a serious sugar snap fan and will happily eat them plainly steamed. However, the idea of doctoring them up was appealing, I admit. When looking for an Asian-inspired vegetable side dish to serve alongside the Thai Beef and Lettuce Rolls, this sugar snap recipe seemed a good fit.

 

The dish had an incredibly appealing aroma as it cooked on the stove, and it was visually appealing, as well. The bright green sugar snaps flecked with orange made the side dish look as good as it tasted. And yes, it tasted good. Delicious, even! John and I both ranked the recipe as 3.5 stars, and I already have plans to make it again later this week.

 

Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps

1 tsp dark sesame oil
2 green onions, sliced
½ tsp grated peeled fresh ginger
1 (8-oz) package fresh sugar snap peas
1 tsp grated fresh orange rind
¼ tsp salt

1. Heat sesame oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat; add green onions and ginger. Sauté 2 minutes. Add sugar snap peas, and sauté 2 minutes or just until crisp-tender. Remove from heat; stir in orange rind and salt.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: ½ cup). Per serving, 1 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps (New Recipe #40)”

  1. […] and I ate only half of the Thai Beef and Lettuce Rolls from the other night, but we ate all of the Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps that went with them. Therefore, I glanced through my WeightWatchers New Complete Cookbook‘s […]

  2. […] Dishes Broccoli with Garlic Spicy Wilted Spinach Sautéed Swiss Chard Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps Green Beans with Chili Garlic Sauce Fresh Corn Fritters* The Rat(atouille) Pack Zucchini-Ribbon […]


Leave a Reply

