Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Mediterranean-Style Frittata (New Recipe #36) May 14, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:02 PM

001C

 

I love egg-based dishes, such as frittatas, for simple, yet tasty, weeknight dinners. I also enjoy Mediterranean/Greek-inspired meals, so when I came across this WeightWatchers Mediterranean-Style Frittata recipe, I knew I had to give it a try.

 

When shopping for the ingredients ahead of time, I checked at multiple grocery stores for the salt-free Greek seasoning to no avail. I instead used the regular Cavender’s Greek seasoning and omitted the ¼ tsp salt. I still will keep an eye out for the salt-free version, however, as the frittata was a little too salty for my taste. (I tend to have a fairly low tolerance for sodium, however.)

 

I served the frittata with my favorite Mediterranean side, the Red, Green, and Blue Salad, and kalamata olives for John. The salad, with its slight sweetness courtesy of the tomatoes, was a good complement for the frittata. John and I discussed other possible side options/garnishes over dinner and decided that fresh, homegrown tomato slices would have been ideal, had they been available to us at the time. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal overall, and we gave the frittata 3.5 stars.

 

Mediterranean-Style Frittata

2 tsp olive oil
¾ cup packed fresh baby spinach
2 green onions
4 large egg whites
6 large eggs
1/3 cup (1.3 oz) crumbled feta cheese with basil and sun-dried tomatoes
2 tsp salt-free Greek seasoning (such as Cavender’s)
¼ tsp salt

1. Preheat broiler.

2. Heat oil in a 10-inch ovenproof skillet over medium heat. While oil heats, coarsely chop spinach and finely chop onions. Combine egg whites and next 4 ingredients in a large bowl; stir well with a whisk. Add spinach and onions, stirring well.

3. Add egg mixture to pan; cook until edges begin to set (about 2 minutes). Gently lift edge of egg mixture, tilting pan to allow uncooked egg mixture to come in contact with pan. Cook 2 minutes or until egg mixture is almost set.

4. Broil 2 to 3 minutes or until center is set. Transfer frittata to a platter immediately; cut into 4 wedges.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 wedge). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Mediterranean-Style Frittata (New Recipe #36)”

  1. […] week I was in a Mediterranean mood, so two nights after I tried the new frittata recipe, I attempted this Greek-style shrimp recipe from WeightWatchers. I had nearly all of the […]

  2. […] Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis* Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin* Makeover Real-Man Quiche* Mediterranean-Style Frittata Unique Greek Turkey Burgers Simple Roast […]


Leave a Reply

