Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Lemon Summer Pudding Cake (New Recipe #35) May 13, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:48 PM

005C

 

Thirty-five recipes into the year, I finally tried a new dessert! While it may appear from my blog that I am indifferent to sweets, the opposite is true. I love desserts. In truth, I love them so much that I have to largely avoid them if I have any hopes of maintaining a healthy weight. I know, I know – all things in moderation. But “moderation” goes flying out the window when I am face-to-face with a cake. Or pie. Or ice cream. Or anything in the realm of dessert. I will eat, and eat, and eat until the sweet concoction is but a memory.

 

So – I avoid desserts.

 

But yesterday was Mother’s Day, my mom enjoys dessert (like mother, like daughter), and I wanted to make her something sweet for her special day. I chose a WeightWatchers recipe, Lemon Summer Pudding Cake, because it sounded light and summer-y and I could easily make it gluten-free (my mom has celiac disease). It also piqued my curiosity – could a full-size angel food cake really fit into a loaf pan? As it turns out, yes it can.

 

I made the angel food cake on Saturday night, using a gluten-free angel food cake mix. Then on Sunday morning, I put the pudding cake together in enough time for it to chill before our Mother’s Day lunch.

 

Here’s what it looked like straight out of the loaf pan:

004C

 

It is perhaps not the most attractive of cakes, but when sliced and topped with fresh strawberries, its visual appeal improved. Most importantly, however, was that the cake tasted delicious. It was moist, and the subtle lemon flavor was just right. Even better, each serving was a good-sized slice of the cake. I didn’t feel as though I only had a bite or two and it was gone. I gave the cake 4 stars.

 

And in case you were wondering – the leftover slices were left at my parents’ house for my mom and dad to enjoy.

 

Lemon Summer Pudding Cake

1 lemon
1 cup vanilla low-fat yogurt
2 TB honey, divided
1 (15-oz) angel food cake, cut into 1-inch cubes
2 cups sliced strawberries (or any type of fresh berry)

1. Line an 8×4-inch loaf pan with plastic wrap, allowing plastic wrap to extend over edges of pan.

2. Grate 1 tsp rind from lemon; squeeze juice to measure 2 TB. Combine yogurt, lemon juice, lemon rind, and 1 TB honey in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Add cake cubes, and toss well to coat.

3. Transfer cake mixture to prepared pan; gently press down, and cover with plastic wrap. Chill 4 hours.

4. Before serving, combine strawberries and 1 TB honey.

5. Unmold cake, and remove plastic wrap. Cut into 8 slices; serve with berries.

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: 1 cake slice and ¼ cup berries). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Lemon Summer Pudding Cake (New Recipe #35)”

  1. Jean Says:

    The dessert was scrumptious!! Tom Sr. and I both gave it 5 stars! The leftover slices were just as good the next day too. Thank you, Stephanie!

  2. […] I initially was split between making a Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake and a Lemon Summer Pudding Cake. I went with the pudding cake in the end, but filed the stack cake recipe away for later use. As it turns out, Father’s Day was just […]

  3. […] Lemon Summer Pudding Cake Lemon-Blueberry Stack Cake Flourless Chocolate Cakes Peach Cobbler Layered Chocolate-Banana […]


Leave a Reply

