Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Black-Eyed Pea and Spinach Salad (New Recipe #34) May 12, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:40 PM

002C

 

For Mother’s Day today, John and I spent the afternoon with my mom, dad, and younger brother at my parents’ house. My mom had requested to share a family meal at home rather than in a crowded restaurant, and we were all more than willing to comply. My dad is a meat-smoking pro, so I turned the protein portion of our Mother’s Day lunch over to him. He came through with a delicious trio of smoked chicken, ribs, and brisket. It was impressive, even for him.

 

As for me, I was excited to get to plan the rest of the menu–and to have additional taste-testers! Normally I subject only my husband to the first-run of a new recipe, but with my mom’s blessing, I decided to risk it with a new side salad recipe: Black-Eyed Pea and Spinach Salad. (I did, however, stick with a much-practiced standby for the second side: baked sweet potato fries).

 

The salad recipe is from one of my favorite cookbooks, The Food You Crave by Ellie Krieger. Such is my love of this cookbook, I have given multiple friends and family members a copy. I greatly appreciate Krieger’s approach to recipes. She watches the calorie and fat content of her food, but not at the sacrifice of health and taste. You’ll notice in the recipe below that she calls for regular mayo–not light, and especially not fat-free. She just uses the full-fat version in moderation.

 

Ellie came through for me once again, as the salad was very tasty. The dressing was smooth and creamy, but with a kick, and the onion and celery provided a nice crunch. Next time, I will reduce the amount of cider vinegar by a smidge, but otherwise it was wonderful as is. After a little debate, my mom, husband, and I decided on 3.5 stars.  It was just right for our Mother’s Day meal!

 

Black-Eyed Pea and Spinach Salad

3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
3 TB mayonnaise
1½ tsp spicy brown mustard
¼ cup cider vinegar
1/8 tsp hot pepper sauce, plus more to taste
½ tsp salt, plus more to taste
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper, plus more to taste
Two 15.5-oz cans black-eyed peas (about 3 cups), preferably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
½ cup diced red onion
3 stalks celery, thinly sliced (about 3/4 cup)
2 TB chopped fresh chives
4 oz baby spinach leaves (about 4 cups lightly packed), cut into wide ribbons

1. In a small bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, hot sauce, salt, and pepper.

2. In a large bowl, combine the black-eyed peas, onion, celery, and chives. Pour the dressing over the mixture and gently stir to incorporate, being careful not to break up too many of the beans. Add the spinach and toss to coat. Season with more salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste. Serve immediately.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cups). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Black-Eyed Pea and Spinach Salad (New Recipe #34)”

  1. […] gave me a copy of Ellie Krieger’s Comfort Food Fix cookbook a while back. Despite being an enthusiastic fan of Ellie Krieger, the cookbook sat on my bookshelf, unused, for months. Last week, I spontaneously added it to my […]


Leave a Reply

