Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner (New Recipe #33) May 6, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:15 PM

015C

 

One recent evening, my in-laws called to tell John and me about a new recipe they had tried from their Hungry Girl to the Max! cookbook: Winner Winner Chicken Dinner. It is a foil pack recipe, which they know I enjoy trying, and they both thought it lived up to its name – the foil pack was indeed a winner. Despite the inclusion of mushrooms–which I tend to avoid–in the ingredients, I knew it would not be long before I tried it myself, and it wasn’t. I made up two packs for our Saturday night supper this past weekend.

 

When John’s parents made the recipe, they used 1/2 package of onion soup/dip mix per foil pack rather than the teaspoon stated in the list of ingredients. I followed suit, although both John and I felt that the dish turned out a little too salty as a result. I also used chicken tenders instead of a single chicken breast; I sliced the chicken into bite-sized pieces before adding it to the foil packs.

 

Other than being a smidge too salty, the foil packs were tasty, just as my in-laws had said. The vegetables–even the mushrooms!–were especially flavorful. The foil packs garnered a solid 3-out-of-5 stars.  I served the dish with a side of steamed green beans and Uncle Ben’s brown rice/quinoa mix.  The rice/quinoa turned out to be a great complement for the chicken and veggies.  As for the green beans, I enjoyed them as part of the meal, but John wished for a sweeter side (such as applesauce) instead.

 

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

1/2 TB light whipped butter or light buttery spread
3/4 cup sliced onion
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1 small yellow squash, ends removed, sliced
1 tsp onion soup/dip seasoning mix (or 1/2 package)
One 5-oz raw boneless skinless chicken breast cutlet, pounded to 1/2-inch thickness
Optional seasonings: salt and black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lay a large piece of heavy-duty foil on a baking sheet and spray with nonstick spray.

2. In a medium microwave-safe bowl, microwave butter for 15 seconds, or until melted. Add onion, mushrooms, and squash, and 1/2 tsp onion soup/dip mix. Stir well and distribute onto the center of the foil.

3. Season chicken with remaining 1/2 tsp onion soup/dip mix and place over the veggie mixture. Cover with another large piece of foil.

4. Fold together and seal all four edges of the foil pieces, forming a well-sealed packet. Bake for 25 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and veggies are tender.

5. Cut packet to release steam before opening entirely.

Yield: 1 serving. Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

Leave a comment