Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin (New Recipe #31) April 27, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:16 PM

009C 010C

 

Pork used to scare me. Not literally, of course. The sight of a pig would not send me running for shelter, and I did not plug my ears when “The Three Little Pigs” was featured at storytime. So perhaps I should say that cooking pork used to scare me. I was uninformed about the various cuts of pork, and I had zero experience buying or cooking it. Yet my quest to try 40 new recipes this year (which I am on track to not just meet but surpass) has been slowly building my kitchen confidence. It was only a matter of time before I took on a pork tenderloin.

 

I chose  to try this WeightWatchers recipe because it did not have too many ingredients, and I was intrigued by the ingredients it did have. Namely, the honey, fresh rosemary, and hoisin sauce (the latter of which I have seen listed in many recipes but had yet to try).

 

I especially liked this recipe for its ease of preparation; the pork went quickly into the oven and the sauce was a breeze to get a-bubblin’ on the stove. The one hiccup with its preparation was trying to determine whether it was done or not at the end. My meat thermometer put the tenderloin above 155, but when I cut in to the thickest part, it seemed very pink to me. I ended up cooking it a few minutes longer than the recipe stated just to be on the safe side.

 

I partnered the pork with roasted red potatoes and sugar snap peas, and it all made for a fantastic dinner. The pork tenderloin was very, very good. It was moist and flavorful and earned itself 4 enthusiastic stars from both John and me. John kept going back for more, and he even semi-jokingly requested that I make him another batch for his lunches this week. This cook took that as high praise, indeed.

 

Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin

1 (1-lb) pork tenderloin, trimmed
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
Cooking spray
¼ cup balsamic vinegar
2 TB honey
4 tsp hoisin sauce
2 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Sprinkle pork with salt and pepper. Place pork on a foil-lined jelly-roll pan coated with cooking spray. Bake for 10 minutes.

3. While pork bakes, combine balsamic vinegar and next 3 ingredients in a small saucepan; bring to a boil. Boil 1 to 2 minutes or until slightly thickened. Brush a small amount of glaze over pork; bake an additional 14 minutes or until a thermometer registers 155˚ (slightly pink), basting heavily twice with remaining balsamic glaze. Let stand 5 minutes; cut into ¼-inch-thick slices.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 3 oz pork and about 1½ TB sauce). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin (New Recipe #31)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    I was not joking.

  2. […] yesterday’s pear sandwiches and pork tenderloin, I finished up my weekend cooking marathon today at lunch with the Monterey Jack, Green Chile & […]

  3. […] Casserole Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis* Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin* Makeover Real-Man Quiche* Mediterranean-Style Frittata Unique Greek Turkey Burgers Simple Roast […]


Leave a Reply

