Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Sausages and Onion on Crispy Polenta (New Recipe #28) April 21, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:32 PM

001C 004C

 

Despite my disappointing attempt at a polenta recipe last week, tonight I was ready to give polenta another try. One, I was genuinely interested in finding a solid polenta recipe, and two, I had leftover polenta that needed to be eaten.

 

I pulled tonight’s recipe from the WeightWatchers in 20 Minutes cookbook, whose recipes–despite its name–take more than 20 minutes to prepare and cook. Nevertheless, the recipe did have a fairly easy prep and before too long, I had food sizzling on my stove.

 

Instead of using prepared marinara sauce as the recipe calls for, I added 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1/2 tsp of basil to 1 cup of crushed tomatoes (yes, I still have crushed tomatoes in my fridge), which worked just fine.

 

I served the dish alongside roasted zucchini seasoned with garlic and oregano, which was a nice pairing.  I really enjoyed the Sausages and Onion recipe. I should have cooked the onion and pepper longer, as they remained slightly crunchy, but otherwise I found the dish very tasty. The polenta added a nice spin on traditional Italian food; the change from pasta was a refreshing one. The sausage and olives added depth and flavor and made the recipe seem richer than it is. John gave it 3-out-of-5 stars, but I leaned towards 3.5, even with the crunchy veggies. While it won’t be a recipe that I cook all the time, I do plan to make it again.

 

Sausages and Onion on Crispy Polenta

1 (16-oz) tube fat-free polenta, cut into 12 slices
1 large red bell pepper, cut into strips
1 large onion, sliced
1/2 lb fully cooked sun-dried tomato and chicken sausages, cut into 1-inch slices
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 cup prepared fat-free marinara sauce
1/3 cup water
6 pitted kalamata olives, sliced
2 TB coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley

 

1. Spray a large nonstick ridged grill pan with nonstick spray and set over high heat (I do not have a grill pan, so I just used a nonstick skillet). Arrange the polenta slices on the pan and lightly spray with nonstick spray. Cook until golden, about 5 minutes on each side.

 

2. Meanwhile, spray a large nonstick skillet (I used my wok) with nonstick spray and set over medium-high heat. Add the bell pepper and onion; cook, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes (I should have cooked my onion and pepper longer than 3 minutes). Stir in the sausages and Italian seasoning; cook until the sausages are lightly browned, about 2 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until heated through, about 1 minute longer. Transfer the polenta to a platter and top with the sausage mixture.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 3 slices polenta and about 3/4 cup sausage mixture). Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Sausages and Onion on Crispy Polenta (New Recipe #28)”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    I cooked polenta this way the other day and served it with baked salmon. It was so good. BJ doesn’t usually like corn meal, but he liked this meal. Right after it came out of the skillet, I put about a teaspoon of grated parmesan cheese on each round. It melted on top and added a bit of saltiness that really helped with the flavor.


Leave a Reply

