Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Spicy Shrimp & Veggies Foil Pack (New Recipe #25) April 6, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:21 PM

002_b

After a week’s hiatus from cooking, it was nice to be back in the kitchen today. I have been in survival mode for the past week, thanks to round 1 of state testing at work. I have been anxious to get back into my normal routine (the one that doesn’t involve me falling asleep from exhaustion at 8 PM and does involve me cooking and exercising on a semi-regular basis).

 

For tonight’s dinner, I chose the Spicy Shrimp & Veggies Foil Pack recipe from Hungry Girl to the Max! I had good luck with her Rat(atouille) Pack a while back, so I thought I would give this foil-pack recipe a try.

 

I made up two batches of the recipe so that John and I would each have a full serving. I was excited to use up the crushed tomatoes sitting in my fridge, but unfortunately, I needed more for the doubled recipe. I had to open (but not use all of) yet another can. The canned crushed tomatoes saga continues…

 

Despite the leftover canned crushed tomatoes, the only true downside of tonight’s foray into the kitchen was the recipe itself. It fell flat, earning only 2.5 stars. It was a little spicy thanks to the red pepper flakes, but the sauce had thinned out while cooking in the oven, and therefore the shrimp and veggies did not have much flavor. I served the recipe over cooked whole wheat spaghetti, and I wonder if rice would have soaked up the liquid more and been more flavorful. I may never know, as I am unsure that I will try this recipe again.

 

Spicy Shrimp & Veggies Foil Pack

¾ cup canned crushed tomatoes
1 tsp chopped garlic
¼ tsp red pepper flakes
1/8 tsp black pepper
5 oz raw shrimp, peeled, tails removed, deveined
1 cup small broccoli florets
½ cup chopped bell pepper
¼ cup chopped onion

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lay a large piece of heavy-duty foil on a baking sheet and spray with nonstick spray.

2. In a large bowl, mix crushed tomatoes, garlic, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. Stir in remaining ingredients. Distribute onto the center of the foil, and cover with another large piece of foil.

3. Fold together and seal all four edges of the foil pieces, forming a well-sealed packet. Bake for 15 minutes, or until shrimp are cooked through and veggies are tender.

4. Cut packet to release steam before opening entirely.

Yield: 1 serving. Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Spicy Shrimp & Veggies Foil Pack (New Recipe #25)”

  1. […] dislikes thyme). I tossed in 1/3 of a red bell pepper, which I had leftover from last night’s Shrimp & Veggie Foil Packs. I also added in a dash of cayenne pepper, as I was worried that the gumbo might not be flavorful […]

  2. […] packs, I am split: on the one hand, they can turn out delicious; on the other, they can be rather blah.  Last night I decided to risk it and try the Fajitas in a Foil Pack recipe from Hungry Girl to […]


Leave a Reply

