Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese (New Recipe #23) March 30, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 4:46 PM

018_bright

 

Recently, John commented that he was burned out on our usual easy weekend lunch options (sandwiches, wraps, frozen veggie burgers, and frozen pizza). It is true that I usually plan and cook for a few dinners a week and leave weekend lunches to whatever we can scrounge up when the time comes. I got to thinking about what he said, and I became motivated to cook a real lunch today.

 

I chose Hungry Girl’s Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese from Hungry Girl to the Max! for several reasons: I liked the inclusion of broccoli slaw in the recipe, I was needing a break from all of the Tex-Mex I’d been cooking of late, and I still had a partial can of crushed tomatoes sitting in the fridge from when I made Slow-Cookin’ Mexican Chicken (of course, what I had leftover wasn’t enough for this recipe, so I had to open a new can anyway, which means I still have crushed tomatoes sitting in my fridge).

 

The turkey bolognese was delicious. It also made two huge servings, so it was a very filling lunch for relatively low Points (7 per serving).  John and I concurred that the recipe earned a strong 3.5-star rating, and I definitely will make it again for either a lunch or dinner.

 

I liked how my lunchtime cooking experiment went today, and I was pleased that John enjoyed the change.  While I cannot promise him that I’ll always cook Saturday lunch from scratch, I can promise to at least try to do so a little more often. After all, even I tire of veggie burgers on occasion.

 

Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese

1¼ cups canned crushed tomatoes
¼ cup tomato paste
1 tsp chopped garlic
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
½ tsp Worcestershire sauce
½ tsp dried oregano
½ tsp dried basil
One 12-oz bag (4 cups) broccoli cole slaw
8 oz raw lean ground turkey
1/8 tsp each salt and black pepper

1. In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients except broccoli slaw, turkey, salt, and pepper.

2. Bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat. Add broccoli slaw and ½ cup water. Cover and cook until fully softened, 10 to 12 minutes. Uncover and, if needed, cook and stir until water has evaporated, 2 to 3 minutes.

3. Transfer slaw to another medium bowl and blot away excess moisture. Remove skillet from heat, re-spray, and return to medium-high heat. Add turkey and season with salt and pepper. Cook and crumble for 4 to 5 minutes, until fully cooked.

4. Add tomato mixture and slaw to the skillet and cook and stir until hot, 2 to 3 minutes.

Yield: 2 servings (serving size: about 2 cups). Per serving, 7 PointsPlus.

 

4 Responses to “Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese (New Recipe #23)”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    I’m horrible about not planning out lunches very well. My poor husband has hinted that he needs a hiatus from grilled cheese, so maybe we’ll try this recipe.

  2. […] of the recipe so that John and I would each have a full serving. I was excited to use up the crushed tomatoes sitting in my fridge, but unfortunately, I needed more for the doubled recipe. I had to open (but not use all of) yet […]

  3. […] you have been following my blog from the beginning, you will know that I am a major fan of broccoli slaw. The remaining ingredients in this recipe–almonds, raisins, and honey, notably–are also […]

  4. […] Chicken with Noodles Thai Shrimp Curry Thai Chicken Stir-Fry Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese* Penne Beef Bake Tortilla Casserole Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole Turkey and […]


Leave a Reply

