Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Turkey & Veggie Meatloaf Minis (New Recipe #21) March 24, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:08 PM

002_brighter    004_brighter

It’s official: 2013 is the year of broccoli slaw. (For me, at least.) Tonight I made The Hungry Girl’s Turkey & Veggie Meatloaf Minis, which include broccoli slaw, and they were scrumptious! And this is coming from someone who, until tonight, did not consider herself a meatloaf fan.

 

Growing up, my mom regularly made two different meatloaf recipes. One contained lots of cheese, so I would eat it more readily than the other. Neither, however, was my favorite dish she made. (Sorry, Mom. You made plenty of other meals that I loved.) Therefore, I left childhood thinking that I did not like meatloaf.

 

Despite this supposed aversion, I decided to try this meatloaf recipe for three reasons:

  1. It contained broccoli slaw.
  2. John likes meatloaf.
  3. You make the meatloaf minis in muffin tins.  How fun is that?

 

I was able to pull the recipe together fairly quickly this evening. I grated the onion as the recipe says, but unless there’s a trick out there that I’m missing for grating onion, I will use my mini-chopper next time instead. The onion layers kept falling apart while I attempted to grate.

 

The only other issue I had with preparing the recipe as directed was that I had a lot of turkey-veggie mixture left after filling the 9 muffin cups. I debated mounding them up higher versus adding extra cups; I choose the latter. I made 12 meatloaf minis instead of 9.  This may have lowered the Points value per loaf, but I just counted my Points as the recipe indicates.

 

Once they were baking in the oven, I was not sure how to check for doneness other than taking one out and cutting it apart. I checked one loaf after 25 minutes, thinking that perhaps mine were smaller than intended and therefore would be done more quickly. They were not; I cooked them about 33-34 minutes in the end.

 

Immediately upon tasting the “meat cupcakes” (as dubbed by John, and now the official name for this recipe in the Pierce household), John and I both loved them. Sometimes the first bite can be deceiving, but not so in this case. Every bite was delicious. They easily earned 4-out-of-5 stars from us both, and they shot towards the top of the list of tastiest new recipes I’ve cooked so far this year. (I would rank them first, but John cannot decide whether the Meat Cupcakes recipe or the Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry is his favorite.)

 

Turkey & Veggie Meatloaf Minis

 

1 small onion
¼ cup with 3 TB ketchup
1¼ lbs raw lean ground turkey
3 cups bagged broccoli cole slaw, roughly chopped
½ cup fat-free liquid egg substitute
½ cup quick-cooking oats
2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 9 cups of a 12-cup muffin pan with foil baking cups, or spray them with nonstick spray.

 

2. Grate onion into a large bowl. (Next time, I will chop the onion in my mini-chopper rather than grate it.) Add ¼ cup ketchup and all other ingredients. Thoroughly mix. (My pastry blender worked well for this.)

 

3. Evenly distribute turkey-veggie mixture among the muffin cups and top with ketchup, 1 tsp each.

 

4. Bake until firm with lightly browned edges, 30 to 35 minutes.

 

Yield: 9 servings (serving size: 1 mini meatloaf). Per serving, 3 PointsPlus (or 7 PointsPlus for 2 mini meatloaves)

 

6 Responses to “Turkey & Veggie Meatloaf Minis (New Recipe #21)”

  1. Jean Says:

    Yum…… think I’ll make this for Dad next week! Maybe he won’t notice it’s turkey instead of beef!!

  2. […] the Egg Mug Classic and the Egg Mug Lorraine. I had a carton of Eggbeaters around thanks to the Meat Cupcakes I made last weekend, so it seemed the perfect time to try these […]

  3. […] you have been following my blog from the beginning, you will know that I am a major fan of broccoli slaw. The remaining ingredients in this recipe–almonds, raisins, and honey, notably–are […]

  4. […] Southwest Meatloaf Minis for our Sunday night dinner. These meatloaves are a variation on the Hungry Girl’s Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis, which we endearingly call “meat cupcakes” at our house. The southwest version nixes […]

  5. […] Bolognese* Penne Beef Bake Tortilla Casserole Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis* Honey Balsamic-Glazed Pork Tenderloin* Makeover Real-Man Quiche* Mediterranean-Style Frittata […]


Leave a Reply

