Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Crock-Pot Sloppy Janes (New Recipe #18) March 5, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:16 PM

005

Sloppy Joes are not something I crave. In fact, until Sunday night I do not think I’d eaten a Sloppy Joe in many, many years. So I’m still a little surprised at how interested I was in trying the Hungry Girl’s Crock-Pot Sloppy Janes recipe.

Part of the appeal of the recipe was the fact that it is a slow-cooker one. I was needing something that I could put together Sunday morning and have cook during the afternoon while I was musical-watching with my good friend, DM. When I returned home early Sunday evening, I was greeted not only by my dear husband, but also by the aroma of cooked meat and vegetables. The Sloppy Janes smelled delectable, and my grumbling tummy was ready for a taste.

The Sloppy Janes were good, but not fantastic. I am not sure if that was due to the extra-lean ground beef or to being in the slow-cooker longer than necessary (I cooked them on low for just under 6 hours, but they likely had finished cooking before then). I served them on whole-wheat hamburger buns with sliced tomato. In the end, I would give them 2.5-out-of-5 stars.

Crock-Pot Sloppy Janes

One 6-oz can tomato paste
1 1/2 TB brown sugar (not packed)
1 TB Worcestershire sauce
1 TB red wine vinegar
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped bagged broccoli cole slaw
1 1/2 lbs raw extra-lean ground beef (4% fat or less)
2 tsp chopped garlic
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp paprika
1/8 tsp black pepper

1. In a large bowl, combine tomato paste, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, and vinegar. Stir until uniform. Add veggies, and stir to coat.

2. Place beef in the bottom of a crock pot. Sprinkle with garlic and seasonings, and mix well. Top with saucy veggie mixture, and thoroughly stir. (I used a crock-pot liner, which got in the way when stirring.)

3. Cover and cook on high for 3 – 4 hours or on low for 7 – 8 hours (I recommend less!), until beef is fully cooked and veggies have softened. Stir well, breaking up any large pieces of meat.

Yield: 6 servings (about 1/2 cup each). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Crock-Pot Sloppy Janes (New Recipe #18)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    I think I liked them a bit more than you…probably about 3 stars.

  2. Loveta Pierce Says:

    This looks like something John and I would really like. I may try it. Do you think it was just overcooked is the reason for such low stars? Sure looking forward to seeing you two next week!!!!

    • skpierce12 Says:

      I think it’s possible that the overcooking may have been what lowered the taste-rating, rather than the recipe itself. I’d be curious to try it again on a day when I could be home to monitor it more closely!


Leave a Reply

