Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Greek Grilled Cheese Sandwich (New Recipe #16) February 24, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:34 PM

003_bright 005_dark

Have you ever cooked a particular dish over and over again, only to somehow forget about it over time? I recently (re)discovered one such side salad: the Red, Green, and Blue Salad from The Biggest Loser Cookbook. I used to eat it several times a month, but in the course of the past 2 to 3 years I never made it once. I can thank the Hungry Girl’s Greek Grilled Cheese for bringing it back to my attention. The ingredients of the grilled cheese recipe are very similar to those of the side salad, so when I came across the Hungry Girl recipe, I immediately thought of my old favorite. I decided to whip up both recipes for a weeknight dinner last week.

I had been aiming for a quick dinner, but it took me longer than anticipated to get all of the ingredients for both recipes chopped up and measured. I did make a triple batch of the grilled cheese (2 for John, 1 for me), but I still felt it all should have come together more quickly. Eventually, though, the salads and sandwiches were made and on the table. The first bite of the sandwich was very tasty and I was prepared to give it a solid 4-star rating. By the time I took my last bite, however, I was starting to get a little tired of it, and therefore, my final rating would be closer to 3.5; John felt about the same.  Despite the slight drop, I will definitely make it again.  The side salad was as good as I remembered; it rates as 4 stars.

Greek Grilled Cheese

2 slices light bread
1 wedge The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss cheese
2 TB crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese
1 TB diced and seeded tomato
1 TB diced red onion
1 TB chopped basil
2 tsp light whipped butter or light buttery spread

1. Lay bread slices flat and spread both with the cheese wedge. Top one slice with feta cheese, tomato, onion, and basil. Top with the other bread slice, cheesy side down. Spread the top of the sandwich with 1 tsp butter.

2. Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat (I used my griddle so that I could cook all 3 sandwiches at once). Place sandwich in the skillet, buttered side down. Spread the top with remaining 1 tsp butter.

3. Cook until bread is lightly browned and cheese has melted, about 2 minutes per side, flipping carefully.

Yield: 1 serving. Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

Red, Green, and Blue Salad

2 medium plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1/2 medium cucumber, seeded and chopped
1/4 cup red onion slivers
2 TB crumbled gorgonzola cheese (I always use reduced-fat feta instead)
2 tsp light balsamic salad dressing
Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

1. In a medium serving bowl, combine the tomatoes, cucumber, onion, cheese, and dressing. Toss well. Season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

Yield: 2 servings. Per serving, 2 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Greek Grilled Cheese Sandwich (New Recipe #16)”

  1. […] served the frittata with my favorite Mediterranean side, the Red, Green, and Blue Salad, and kalamata olives for John. The salad, with its slight sweetness courtesy of the tomatoes, was […]


Leave a Reply

