Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Tortilla Casserole (New Recipe #15) February 19, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:04 PM

007

I picked out this Tortilla Casserole recipe from my new WeightWatchers One Pot Cookbook last Thursday night, and I waited all weekend to try it out. Last night I finally had my chance.

I was drawn to the recipe by its Tex-Mex ingredients, and I was curious how the egg/cream-style corn mix would taste.  The recipe also gave me an opportunity to redeem myself when cooking with our cast-iron skillet, which I had not attempted since the Five-Alarm Chicken incident of last month.

As it turned out, the egg/corn combo was a good one. Between the corn tortillas and the can of cream-style corn, the casserole has a very strong corn flavor. It reminded me a little of corn pudding. As my family knows, corn pudding has never been my favorite, so I was surprised how much I liked the casserole.

The recipe calls for it to be served with tomatillo salsa, but I had the Pioneer Woman’s homemade salsa on hand, so that’s what we had instead. I also made a small batch of guacamole to serve on the side, knowing how much my husband would enjoy it (which he did). The casserole earned 4 stars from the both of us.

(Incidentally, I did just fine with the cast-iron skillet.)

Tortilla Casserole

1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
3/4 tsp dried oregano
1 (14.75-oz) can cream-style corn
2 large eggs
3 large egg whites
2/3 cup shredded reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend (I shredded 2/3 cup from a block of 2% sharp cheddar)
2 TB mild pepper sauce (I used 1 TB of hot pepper sauce)
4 (6-inch) corn tortillas, cut into 1-inch strips

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Spray 1.5-quart flameproof casserole dish or heavy ovenproof nonstick skillet with nonstick spray and set over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic; cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in cumin and oregano. Remove casserole from heat; transfer vegetable mixture to sheet of foil and let cool.

3. Mix together corn, eggs, egg whites, 1/3 cup cheese, and the pepper sauce in large bowl. Stir in vegetable mixture. Spoon half of mixture into cooled casserole dish. Arrange half of tortilla strips on top. Repeat with remaining vegetable mixture and tortilla strips. Sprinkle with the remaining 1/3 cup cheese. Transfer casserole to oven and bake until golden and set in center, about 35 minutes. (Concerned with over-browning, I loosely covered the skillet in foil for the first 25 minutes.) Serve with salsa.

Yield: 6 servings. Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Tortilla Casserole (New Recipe #15)”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    This looks delicious. Next time I come to visit, you can make it for me 🙂

  2. […] Chicken Stir-Fry Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken Broccoli Slaw Turkey Bolognese* Penne Beef Bake Tortilla Casserole Monterey Jack, Green Chili & Bean Casserole Turkey and Veggie Meatloaf Minis* Honey […]


Leave a Reply

