Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Szechuan Chicken with Noodles (New Recipe #13) February 16, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 9:08 PM

001 008

For Valentine’s Day, John gave me the WeightWatchers One Pot Cookbook, which I had browsed through every time we’d stepped foot into a bookstore in the past couple of months (which was a lot). It’s a beautiful cookbook with a unique concept: the recipes are grouped by the vessel in which they are cooked. For example, the chapter titled, “In a Dutch Oven” only includes recipes cooked in–you named it–a Dutch oven.

For tonight’s dinner, I selected Szechuan Chicken with Noodles from the “In a Wok” chapter to be my inaugural dish from the cookbook (you know how much I love my wok). It caught my eye for several reasons; notably, I was intrigued by the inclusion of broccoli slaw on the ingredients list. I seem to be on a mission to find multiple uses for broccoli slaw as of late.

The preparation and cooking of the recipe went very smoothly, which is always a plus. I think it could even be a good weeknight dinner recipe, especially as I’ve cooked it once now. John and I both found it to be very tasty and gave it 4-out-of-5 stars. John added additional soy sauce to his portion, which he would highly recommend. Ever Points-conscious, I ate the recipe as is and still found it delicious.

Szechuan Chicken with Noodles

3 (5-oz) skinless boneless chicken breasts, cut on diagonal into thin strips
2 TB cornstarch
2 tsp canola oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 (10-oz) package broccoli slaw
1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced (I used 4 green onions)
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
4 oz whole wheat spaghetti, broken in thirds and cooked according to package directions
2 TB reduced-sodium soy sauce
1 TB sherry vinegar (I did not have any, so I used red wine vinegar)
2 tsp sugar
2 TB pine nuts, toasted (I forgot to toast them–oops!)

1. Combine chicken and cornstarch in large zip-close plastic bag. Squeeze out air and seal bag. Shake until chicken is coated evenly.

2. Heat wok or large deep nonstick skillet over high (I used medium-high) heat until a drop of water sizzles in the pan. Add 1 tsp of oil and swirl to coat wok. Add chicken and stir-fry until cooked through, about 3 minutes (this took longer for me). Add garlic and stir-fry until fragrant, about 30 seconds; transfer to plate.

3. Remove wok from heat; wipe clean with wet paper towel to remove any cornstarch. Set wok over high (again, I kept it at medium-high) heat and add remaining 1 tsp oil. Add broccoli slaw and stir-fry until crisp-tender, about 4 minutes. Add scallions and pepper flakes; stir-fry 2 minutes.

4. Return chicken to wok along with spaghetti; stir-fry until heated through, about 2 minutes. Add soy sauce, vinegar, and sugar; stir-fry until mixed well, about 1 minute. Serve sprinkled with pine nuts.

Healthy Extra:  Add 1 diced red or orange bell pepper to the wok along with the broccoli slaw in step 3. (I added 1/2 of an orange bell pepper.)

Yield: 4 servings. Per serving, 8 PointsPlus.

 

4 Responses to “Szechuan Chicken with Noodles (New Recipe #13)”

  1. Loveta Pierce Says:

    This does look delicious. I want to try it.

  2. […] of the other Asian dishes I’ve recently made, such as the Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry or the Szechuan Chicken with Noodles, but with a little tweaking it could be a solid […]

  3. […] you have been following my blog from the beginning, you will know that I am a major fan of broccoli slaw. The remaining ingredients in this recipe–almonds, raisins, and honey, […]

  4. […] Dishes Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry General Tso’s Chicken Szechuan Chicken with Noodles Thai Shrimp Curry Thai Chicken Stir-Fry Creamy Broccoli Slaw with Chicken Broccoli Slaw Turkey […]


Leave a Reply

