Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Broccoli with Garlic (New Recipe #8) January 28, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:40 PM

002 005

I had 2 small heads of broccoli left over from Saturday night’s stir-fry that were begging to be used, but the thought of plain, steamed broccoli (my go-to form of preparing broccoli as a side) was completely uninspiring. So last night I looked through my new Weight Watchers cookbook, found the Broccoli with Garlic recipe, stopped by the store after work today to buy roasted red bell peppers, and–voila!–I had myself a tasty side dish for tonight’s baked tilapia.

Not a little of the credit for tonight’s attempt at something more goes to Jenny Rosenstrach’s Dinner, A Love Story cookbook/memoir. My sister-in-law Kalyn gave me a copy of the book for Christmas, and I’ve spent the past week devouring it. On the one hand, it was a little depressing to read, considering I am on Weight Watchers and not cooking anything that calls for “glugs” of olive oil at the moment. On the other hand, it was inspiring, even for someone on a diet. If she could juggle a full-time career and motherhood and still manage to get dinners made with fresh ingredients on the table most nights, then I could, too.

The broccoli side dish was simple and quick to make, and it worked very well with the baked tilapia sprinkled with Cajun seasoning that I had already planned to make. The cookbook suggested serving the broccoli over whole wheat spaghetti, which I did, but without a sauce the pasta was too dry for my taste. I am sure there are (non-dietary) ways of fixing that problem, though! At any rate, the side earned 4 out of 5 stars from me and 3-and-a-half stars from my husband (which was high praise, considering broccoli is not among his favorites).

Broccoli with Garlic

1 bunch broccoli, coarsely chopped (I used the florets from 2 small heads)
2 tsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1/4 cup jarred roasted red bell pepper, chopped

1. Bring 1/2 inch of water to boil in large non-stick skillet. (Be careful not to put too much water into the skillet like I did! I had to ladle some of the boiling water out before I put the broccoli in.) Add broccoli and cook, covered, until crisp-tender, about 5 minutes; drain. Wipe skillet dry.

2. Add oil to skillet and set over medium heat. Add broccoli, garlic, and oregano; cook, stirring, until garlic is golden, about 2 minutes. Stir in roasted pepper; cook, stirring, until heated through, about 1 minute longer.

Yield: 4 servings (about 1 cup each). Per serving, 1 PointsPlus.

 

2 Responses to “Broccoli with Garlic (New Recipe #8)”

  1. […] dinner started with high hopes and eager enthusiasm. After Monday night’s success, I was fired up about coming home and cooking another fresh, homemade dinner on a weeknight. Yes, […]

  2. […] Dishes Broccoli with Garlic Spicy Wilted Spinach Sautéed Swiss Chard Orange-Ginger Sugar Snaps Green Beans with Chili Garlic […]


Leave a Reply

